npr http://nhpr.org en NPR's Mara Liasson http://nhpr.org/post/nprs-mara-liasson <p>Mara Liasson will discuss the White House and upcoming elections, as well as how changes in both political parties over the past six years have affected such key issues as the Affordable Care Act, the debt-ceiling debate, and immigration reform.</p><p><strong>GUESTS: </strong></p><ul><li><strong>Mara Liasson – </strong>national political correspondent for NPR. She joined NPR in 1985 as a general assignment reporter, later working as a congressional correspondent, and then the White House correspondent.</li></ul><p><strong>LINKS:</strong></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 13:00:00 +0000 The Exchange 45076 at http://nhpr.org NPR's Mara Liasson StoryCorps Founder David Isay http://nhpr.org/post/storycorps-founder-david-isay <p>We're speaking with David Isay, StoryCorps founder and frequent contributor to NPR. His StoryCorps project's mission is to provide people of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories about their lives. Since 2003, StoryCorps has collected and archived more than 45,000 interviews. They are all preserved at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, and many have aired on NPR's Morning Edition. David Isay has written a new book, "Ties That Bind: Stories of Love and Gratitude From the First Ten Years of StoryCorps".</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 40314 at http://nhpr.org StoryCorps Founder David Isay Scott Simon's Twitter Vigil http://nhpr.org/post/scott-simons-twitter-vigil <p>A few years ago, NPR's Weekend Edition Saturday host Scott Simon interviewed his mother, Patricia Lyons Simon Newman, for <a href="http://storycorps.org/listen/patricia-lyons-simon-newman-gilband-and-her-son-scott-simon/" target="_blank">StoryCorps</a>. She talked about what a great companion he was; when he broke down, in response, his mother told him to "stop crying."</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 19:40:07 +0000 Virginia Prescott 32368 at http://nhpr.org Scott Simon's Twitter Vigil NPR's Dina Temple-Raston http://nhpr.org/post/nprs-dina-temple-raston <p>Dina Temple-Raston joins us today.&nbsp; She covers counter-terrorism for NPR, and is in New Hampshire this week.&nbsp; We’ll talk with her about the many new and emerging terrorism challenges that President Obama will face in his second term from Al Queda affiliates in Africa to handling terrorism suspects still incarcerated at Guantanamo Bay.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p><strong>Guest</strong></p><p><strong>Dina Temple-Raston - </strong>NPR's Counterterrorism Correspondent</p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 20285 at http://nhpr.org NPR's Dina Temple-Raston Three Minute Fiction is Back! http://nhpr.org/post/three-minute-fiction-back <p>If you listen to All Things Considered often enough, you&rsquo;ll notice that many of the stories and conversations we share with you work out to around three minutes long.</p><p>NPR&rsquo;s <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/all-things-considered/" target="_blank">Weekend All Things Considered</a> has turned that scenario on its head, through its <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/105660765/three-minute-fiction" target="_blank">Three Minute Fiction</a> contest.</p> Fri, 09 Mar 2012 21:00:00 +0000 Brady Carlson & Guy Raz 2447 at http://nhpr.org Ask the NHPR President http://nhpr.org/post/ask-nhpr-president <p>We sit down with NHPR President Betsy Gardella!</p> Thu, 22 Dec 2011 15:03:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 1017 at http://nhpr.org Ask the NHPR President NPR's Guy Raz: Recorded live at the Tupelo Music Hall http://nhpr.org/post/nprs-guy-raz-recorded-live-tupelo-music-hall <p>A conversation with NPR's All Things Considered host Guy Raz, recorded live at the Tupelo Music Hall in White River Junction, VT.</p> Mon, 12 Dec 2011 16:58:11 +0000 Virginia Prescott 837 at http://nhpr.org NPR's Guy Raz: Recorded live at the Tupelo Music Hall