safety http://nhpr.org en A Culture Of Coddling? http://nhpr.org/post/culture-coddling <p>School decisions banning dodge ball and tag have re-ignited a broader debate on whether we are over-protecting kids. We discuss the need for letting go and letting children grow.&nbsp; But others say the world has changed, and parental involvement is needed today.</p><p> <strong><u>GUESTS:</u></strong></p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 17:43:47 +0000 Laura Knoy 37915 at http://nhpr.org A Culture Of Coddling? Officers Promote Water Safety http://nhpr.org/post/officers-promote-water-safety <p>Following a series of six New Hampshire drowning incidents in the month of July,&nbsp;safety&nbsp;officers gathered in Concord on Tuesday to raise awareness about the dangers of swollen water bodies.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 22:11:00 +0000 Abby Kessler 31436 at http://nhpr.org Cabs Return To Service In Manchester http://nhpr.org/post/cabs-return-service-manchester <p>Several of the taxis taken off the road earlier this week in Manchester are returning to service.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Five of the 18 taxis grounded earlier this week have returned to service in the Queen City after undergoing repairs and inspections.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Problems with the vehicles ranged from broken tie rods and cracked windshields to rear brake failure and severe body rot.</span></p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 20:24:21 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 24970 at http://nhpr.org Tackling Youth Concussions Head-On http://nhpr.org/post/tackling-youth-concussions-head <p>We talk with experts on head trauma in youth sports.</p> Wed, 16 May 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 4825 at http://nhpr.org Tackling Youth Concussions Head-On The Rodeo Circuit: Bucking Bulls And Broken Bones http://nhpr.org/post/rodeo-circuit-bucking-bulls-and-broken-bones It's spring, and that means rodeo season is ramping up, especially in the American West. Some professional cowboys will soon be competing almost every night in bull riding, calf roping or steer wrestling.<p>But along with the trophy buckles and cash prizes, cowboys also bring home injuries — some of them severe. Tue, 20 Mar 2012 20:48:00 +0000 2657 at http://nhpr.org The Rodeo Circuit: Bucking Bulls And Broken Bones Mine Safety Agency Reports Failures Before Deadly Explosion http://nhpr.org/post/mine-safety-agency-reports-failures-deadly-explosion The latest federal review of the 2010 Upper Big Branch mine explosion again blames Massey Energy for the deaths of 29 coal miners and says Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) failures did not directly contribute to the blast.<p>But details of those failures in <a href="http://www.msha.gov/PerformanceCoal/UBBInternalReview/UBBInternalReview.asp">MSHA's internal review</a> show that federal inspectors, supervisors and administrators failed to identify some of the specific safety problems that triggered and failed to control the initial methane ignition and then caused it to mushroom int Tue, 06 Mar 2012 20:54:00 +0000 Howard Berkes 2354 at http://nhpr.org Mine Safety Agency Reports Failures Before Deadly Explosion Cockpit Confidential http://nhpr.org/post/cockpit-confidential <p>The real pilot behind Salon's "Ask the Pilot" column answers some of our burning questions about air travel.</p> Mon, 05 Mar 2012 15:43:30 +0000 Brady Carlson 2267 at http://nhpr.org Cockpit Confidential Tourism Boom Pays Off For N.Y. Hotel Union http://nhpr.org/post/tourism-boom-pays-ny-hotel-union When the New York Hotel Trades Council ratified a new contract for hotel workers last month, much of the media coverage focused on "panic buttons." Coming after the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2011/09/19/140592335/strauss-kahn-no-apology-concedes-grave-moral-mistake">sexual assault allegations</a> against former International Monetary Fund chief Dominique Strauss-Kahn, the idea of housekeepers wearing a badge that could call for help was all over the news.<p>But the <em>real</em> labor story is the long-term contract the hotel workers union and the industry negotiated. Fri, 02 Mar 2012 21:35:00 +0000 Margot Adler 2274 at http://nhpr.org Tourism Boom Pays Off For N.Y. Hotel Union Government Backs Up On Rearview Car Cameras http://nhpr.org/post/government-backs-rearview-car-cameras <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fn0RocUSLmk</p> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 2238 at http://nhpr.org Government Backs Up On Rearview Car Cameras Swing And A Hitch: New Bats Safer, But Power Wanes http://nhpr.org/post/swing-and-hitch-new-bats-safer-power-wanes Baseball practice has just begun at many high schools across the country, but this year, the game is different. The National Federation of State High School Associations has adopted a new standard for baseball bats that is expected to change the way the game is played.<p>The switch involves a change of bat — from a regular aluminum bat to a metal bat known as Batted-Ball Coefficient of Restitution, or BBCOR. The bats are less springy and have a smaller "sweet spot." In other words, they behave more like old-fashioned wooden bats. Mon, 27 Feb 2012 20:00:00 +0000 2179 at http://nhpr.org Swing And A Hitch: New Bats Safer, But Power Wanes About 25 Percent of Those Killed in 2011 Crashes Were Thrown From Their Vehicles http://nhpr.org/post/about-25-percent-those-killed-2011-crashes-were-thrown-their-vehicles <p>New Hampshire remains the only state that doesn&rsquo;t require adults to wear seat belts and many of the people killed in the state last year in crashes were thrown from their&nbsp;vehicles.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>By the end of 2011 eighty-eight people had been killed in traffic accidents in the state.</p><p>About a quarter of them were either thrown completely from their vehicles or partially ejected, according to state figures.</p><p>That means they were probably not wearing seat belts.</p> Wed, 04 Jan 2012 17:39:12 +0000 Chris Jensen 1221 at http://nhpr.org