recipes http://nhpr.org en Fall Food Overload? Food Editor J.M. Hirsch Is Here To Help! http://nhpr.org/post/fall-food-overload-food-editor-jm-hirsch-here-help <p>Step into any grocery store or café these days and you&rsquo;re bound to be offered something pumpkin-y or apple-ish flavored, filled, or shaped. Add to that displays of cascading squashes, pumpkins, pears and apples, and you may notice the onset of fall food overload. Here to help us get a fresh perspective on fall&rsquo;s rich bounty with tips and recipes for seasonal produce is <strong>J.M. Hirsch -</strong> food editor for the Associated Press and author of several cookbooks, most recently, &ldquo;<a href="http://www.lunchboxblues.com/" target="_blank">Beating the Lunchbox Blues</a>.&rdquo; J.M. will be at <a href="http://www.gibsonsbookstore.com/event/beating-lunch-box-blues" target="_blank">Gibson&#39;s Bookstore</a> in Downtown Concord on Wednesday, October 23rd at 7:oo pm.</p><p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 17:30:05 +0000 Virginia Prescott 36915 at http://nhpr.org Fall Food Overload? Food Editor J.M. Hirsch Is Here To Help! What To Do With Rhubarb When You've Already Made A Pie http://nhpr.org/post/what-do-rhubarb-when-youve-already-made-pie <p>Last week we looked at <a href="http://www.nhpr.org/post/rhubarb-its-not-just-pie-anymore">what to do with rhubarb</a> beyond the traditional (yet incredibly delicious) pie, and we asked for your favorite rhubarb recipes. And did you ever send us some good ones!</p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 19:35:29 +0000 Brady Carlson 29435 at http://nhpr.org What To Do With Rhubarb When You've Already Made A Pie Stretching Out Summer, One Bite at a Time http://nhpr.org/post/stretching-out-summer-one-bite-time <p>Maine Chef <a href="http://www.kathygunst.com/">Kathy Gunst </a>on what we should cook and eat to make us feel better about the waning summer season.</p><p>Kathy's recipes:</p><p><strong>END-OF-THE-SEASON ROASTED TOMATO SAUCE</strong><br><strong><em>From Notes from a Maine Kitchen (Down East Books, 2011)</em></strong><strong>by Kathy Gunst</strong><br>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 14:01:45 +0000 Virginia Prescott 11732 at http://nhpr.org Stretching Out Summer, One Bite at a Time Garden Favorites, From Fiddleheads to Asian-Style Asparagus http://nhpr.org/post/garden-favorites-fiddleheads-asian-style-asparagus <p>We've got some spring recipe ideas from Kathy Gunst.</p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 13:59:14 +0000 Virginia Prescott 3071 at http://nhpr.org Garden Favorites, From Fiddleheads to Asian-Style Asparagus The Dead Celebrity Cookbook http://nhpr.org/post/dead-celebrity-cookbook <p>What's for dinner? How about Patrick Swayze's Chicken Pot Pie?</p> Mon, 13 Feb 2012 17:43:43 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1845 at http://nhpr.org The Dead Celebrity Cookbook What's on your Menu? http://nhpr.org/post/whats-your-menu <p>It's that time of year again - Super Bowl 2012! Time to get our game faces on and prepare for some serious eating. Author and kitchen extrodinaire Kathy Gunst gives us some mouth-watering recipes that will steal the spotlight from your big-screen.</p> Wed, 01 Feb 2012 15:11:57 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1636 at http://nhpr.org What's on your Menu? Going Gourmet with Game http://nhpr.org/post/going-gourmet-game <p>Turns out, Field and Stream has a food editor.</p> Tue, 17 Jan 2012 16:55:24 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1433 at http://nhpr.org Going Gourmet with Game