income tax http://nhpr.org en The End of the New Hampshire Advantage? http://nhpr.org/post/end-new-hampshire-advantage <p>We look at a new study that suggests that those factors that have made New Hampshire the econmic envy of the region may be waning. We'lll look at the study and see how bad it may be.</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 15110 at http://nhpr.org The End of the New Hampshire Advantage? Should we Permanently Preserve “The Pledge”? http://nhpr.org/post/should-we-permanently-preserve-pledge <p>This fall, Granite Staters will vote on a constitutional amendment that would forever forbid the adoption of broad-based income taxes, Wednesday, we'll look at both sides of this debate.</p> Wed, 20 Jun 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 7143 at http://nhpr.org Should we Permanently Preserve “The Pledge”? Amendment To Ban Income Tax Goes To Voters http://nhpr.org/post/amendment-ban-income-tax-goes-voters <p>New Hampshire voters will decide in November whether or not to add a ban on personal income taxes to the state&rsquo;s constitution. Wed, 06 Jun 2012 21:57:56 +0000 Tina Forbes 6357 at http://nhpr.org What Do You Owe In Taxes? Depends Who's Counting http://nhpr.org/post/what-do-you-owe-taxes-depends-whos-counting In 2012, the federal tax return deadline is Tuesday, April 17 — so if you haven't already filed your income tax return, you have about one week left to shop around for different options to finish your taxes, or request an extension.<p>If you're wondering if you're better off filing your federal and state income tax returns through an online tax preparation service, a standard CPA (certified public accountant), or a more elaborate tax specialty firm, you may want to read an article over at Bloomberg Businessweek called "<a href="http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2012-04-05/adventures-in-tax- Mon, 09 Apr 2012 07:36:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 3000 at http://nhpr.org What Do You Owe In Taxes? Depends Who's Counting Senate Leaders Unsure About Income Tax Amendment http://nhpr.org/post/senate-leaders-unsure-about-income-tax-amendment <p>&nbsp;</p><p>The senate is considering a proposed constitutional amendment that would bar a personal income tax.</p><p><span style="white-space: nowrap;">T</span>he amendment passed the house but is facing head-winds in the Senate.</p><p>Top Senate Republicans seemed skeptical during a hearing on the income tax ban.</p><p>They say they&rsquo;re focused on putting an education funding constitutional amendment before the voters next fall.</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2012 21:31:51 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 2943 at http://nhpr.org Senate Leaders Unsure About Income Tax Amendment From Abe Lincoln To Donald Duck: History Of The Income Tax http://nhpr.org/post/abe-lincoln-donald-duck-history-income-tax <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00u6qUelp6c</p> Thu, 22 Mar 2012 08:56:00 +0000 David Kestenbaum 2704 at http://nhpr.org From Abe Lincoln To Donald Duck: History Of The Income Tax Free Tax Help Meant Millions In Refunds To North Country Residents http://nhpr.org/post/free-tax-help-meant-millions-refunds-north-country-residents <p>In six years a North Country group has helped low and moderate income families get more&nbsp;than two million dollars&nbsp;in tax refunds. Now the free service is underway again. NHPR&rsquo;s Chris Jensen reports.</p><p>Once again the&nbsp;<a href="http://www.family-resource-center.org/ ">Family Resource Center </a>of Gorham is offering free tax preparation for families and individuals earning no more than $58,000.</p><p>Last year a record 422 returns were prepared by trained volunteers.</p><p>That gave some for North Country residents a fiscal boost.</p> Thu, 26 Jan 2012 16:45:13 +0000 Chris Jensen 1571 at http://nhpr.org Free Tax Help Meant Millions In Refunds To North Country Residents