Depression http://nhpr.org en Word Of Mouth's Wicked Weepy Playlist http://nhpr.org/post/word-mouths-wicked-weepy-playlist <p>Can't help singing along to your favorite sad songs in the shower, the car, or from the middle of a crowded street?&nbsp; Looking for something to help you dwell on your latest breakup, or summon your personal demons?&nbsp; Want to put something on the stereo that will dull your roomate's perversely happy attitude?&nbsp; Word of Mouth has the playlist for you.&nbsp; Wed, 22 Jan 2014 18:49:42 +0000 Taylor Quimby 42253 at http://nhpr.org Word Of Mouth's Wicked Weepy Playlist Shedding Light On The 'Almost Depressed' http://nhpr.org/post/shedding-light-almost-depressed <p>It’s estimated that one in ten Americans show signs of depression, but in a society where mental illness is simultaneously taboo and overexposed, it’s easy to stick to a black-and-white label to describe mental health.</p><p>As part of the 'Almost Effect' &nbsp;series from <a href="http://www.thealmosteffect.com/about/about-harvard-health-publications/">Harvard Health Publications</a>, t<span style="line-height: 1.5;">wo instructors at Harvard teamed up to write a book on that uncomfortable gray area between well-being and chronic depression. It's called <em><a href="http://www.thealmosteffect.com/books/almost-depressed/">Almost Depressed.</a>&nbsp;</em></span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><em> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 00:07:10 +0000 Virginia Prescott 38785 at http://nhpr.org Shedding Light On The 'Almost Depressed' Diagnosing Depression http://nhpr.org/post/diagnosing-depression <P>A recent article in the Concord Monitor outlines the often-hidden but serious problem of this mental illness. An estimated one-in-ten Americans have this disease and have to deal with not only the symptoms, but managing the health care system and the stigma around depression. Wed, 20 Mar 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 24022 at http://nhpr.org Diagnosing Depression Author Circles Purgatory With Personal Tale Of Depression http://nhpr.org/post/author-circles-purgatory-personal-tale-depression <P>Research <A href="http://www.nimh.nih.gov/science-news/2013/five-major-mental-disorders-share-the-same-genes.shtml" target=_blank>published last month </A>suggests that major mental illnesses may&nbsp;have more genetic associations than previously thought,&nbsp;perhaps leading&nbsp;to new diagnoses and treatments.&nbsp;Author&nbsp;<STRONG>David Blistein&nbsp;</STRONG>wrote his&nbsp;latest&nbsp;book, "<A href="http://davidblistein.com/book-page-davids-inferno/" target=_blank>David's Inferno: My Journey Through the Dark Wood of Depression</A>,"&nbsp;&nbsp;inspired by his own experience. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 16:34:33 +0000 Virginia Prescott 23616 at http://nhpr.org Author Circles Purgatory With Personal Tale Of Depression Is depression in the blood? http://nhpr.org/post/depression-blood <p>New research indicates depression might be diagnosable through a simple blood test.</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2012 15:30:38 +0000 Virginia Prescott 3485 at http://nhpr.org Is depression in the blood? A Depressive Diarist Chronicles His Descent http://nhpr.org/post/depressive-diarist-chronicles-his-descent <em>Patrick deWitt is the author of </em>The Sisters Brothers.<p>"Doesn't the act of noticing matter as much as what's noticed?" So asks the narrator of Harry Mathews' masterpiece of minutia, <em>The Journalist</em>.<p>On the mend from a nervous breakdown (though it's mentioned only in passing — "the steering wheel came off in my hands," he says), he's been encouraged by his doctor to keep a journal. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 22:50:00 +0000 Patrick deWitt 2028 at http://nhpr.org A Depressive Diarist Chronicles His Descent An Evolutionary Upside to Depression? Not Necessarily. http://nhpr.org/post/evolutionary-upside-depression-not-necessarily <p>A Professor of Psychiatry bucks the popular idea that every aspect of the human condition has its roots in our survival as a species.</p> Thu, 26 Jan 2012 19:02:51 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1574 at http://nhpr.org An Evolutionary Upside to Depression? Not Necessarily.