Mormon http://nhpr.org en Murder Of Joseph Smith: Alex Beam's "American Crucifixion" http://nhpr.org/post/murder-joseph-smith-alex-beams-american-crucifixion <p>We're sitting down with Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam to talk about his new book, "American Crucifixion," examining the life of Joseph Smith, founder of the Mormon Church.</p><p><strong><u>GUEST</u>:&nbsp; </strong></p><ul><li><a href="http://alexbeam.net/about-alex/"><strong>Alex Beam</strong></a> – columnist for the Boston Globe and author of <a href="http://alexbeam.net/books/">several books</a>, most recently “American Crucifixion.”</li></ul><p><strong>LINKS:</strong></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 13:00:00 +0000 The Exchange 48881 at http://nhpr.org Murder Of Joseph Smith: Alex Beam's "American Crucifixion" N.H. Mormons Navigate "Mormon Moment" As Election Day Nears http://nhpr.org/post/nh-mormons-navigate-mormon-moment-election-day-nears <p>Governor Mitt Romney’s connection to New Hampshire is well-documented.&nbsp; He <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/romney-family-vacation-in-wolfeboro-nh/2012/07/10/gJQAbtJvaW_gallery.html">owns a house</a> on Lake Winnipesaukee, which he visits regularly.&nbsp; And the Mormon meetinghouse in Wolfeboro serves as his second spiritual home.&nbsp; But what’s less understood by many outside Mormonism is what it’s like being a member of this religious minority in northern New England.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 29 Oct 2012 22:48:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 15664 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Mormons Navigate "Mormon Moment" As Election Day Nears What The IRS Could Learn From Mormons http://nhpr.org/post/what-irs-could-learn-mormons Many religious traditions stress the importance of charity. But Mormons are remarkable for the amount and the precision with which they give to their church.<p>The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints teaches that each Mormon in good standing should tithe 10 percent of his or her income. Fri, 02 Mar 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Robert Smith 2240 at http://nhpr.org What The IRS Could Learn From Mormons A Latter Day Crisis http://nhpr.org/post/latter-day-crisis <p>The Mormon Church is at a crossroads, with young members leaving in droves. We'll hear about their plan reverse the trend, and a young, gay mormon weighs in with his perspective.</p> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 16:30:34 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1741 at http://nhpr.org A Latter Day Crisis Mormons in New Hampshire Fall Back on the Church When Needed http://nhpr.org/post/mormons-new-hampshire-fall-back-church-when-needed <div class="transcript"><p>During these tough economic times people often turn to churches, synagogues and other faith-based organizations for help. Maybe the church runs a shelter, maybe congregants cook food for a family, maybe the temple has a clothing drive.</p><p>But while communities of faith will do what they can to help their members and others in the community, few are as well-organized as the Mormon church.</p><p>NHPR Correspondent Sheryl Rich-Kern has the story.</p> Thu, 07 Jan 2010 17:00:00 +0000 Sheryl Rich-Kern 10927 at http://nhpr.org