Jackie Cilley http://nhpr.org en N.H. Democrats Rally Behind Hassan At Unity Breakfast http://nhpr.org/post/nh-democrats-rally-behind-hassan-unity-breakfast <p></p><p>New Hampshire Democrats met in Manchester this morning at a Unity Breakfast to set the tone for the run up to the general election in November.</p><p>Gubernatorial candidate Maggie Hassan, her former challenger Jackie Cilley, and other Democratic candidates spoke at the party’s first major post-primary event.</p><p>In a show of solidarity, Jackie Cilley removed her own campaign button from her coat and pinned a Hassan button in its place, asking her supporters to do the same.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 16:07:36 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 12852 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Democrats Rally Behind Hassan At Unity Breakfast Cilley Tells Supporters: 'Fight Worth Having' http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-tells-supporters-fight-worth-having <p>Jackie Cilley concedes the Democratic gubernatorial race to Maggie Hassan, and says the primary debate was worth it for the party. Wed, 12 Sep 2012 05:54:18 +0000 12742 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Tells Supporters: 'Fight Worth Having' Cilley Slips in Democratic Primary http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-slips-democratic-primary <p>Perhaps the biggest surprise of last night was not that Democrat Jackie Cilley lost to her rival Maggie, Hassan, but by how big a margin. What was supposed to be a close race turned out to be a run-away.</p><p>This primary season the question has been: will democrats elect a candidate who hasn’t pledged to veto an income or sales tax? From the outset, Cilley has made not taking such a pledge the centerpiece of her campaign.</p><p>But with the very first poll returns it was clear that Cilley was in for a rough night. Later she took the podium to concede the race.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 04:56:31 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 12738 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Slips in Democratic Primary Cilley's North Country Roots Not Enough http://nhpr.org/post/cilleys-north-country-roots-not-enough <p>If Democratic gubernatorial candidate Jackie Cilley thought being a Berlin native would give her a crucial edge in the North Country she was wrong.</p><p>Cilley did win in Berlin but her 546 votes were only 56 percent of the total.</p><p>Down the road in neighboring Gorham she snared 55 percent of the votes.</p><p>But it was downhill from there despite spending five consecutive days touring the North Country from Littleton to Colebrook and Pittsburg and then over to Berlin and the communities along the Androscoggin River.</p><p>In Littleton she got only 35 percent of the vote.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 04:44:13 +0000 Chris Jensen 12736 at http://nhpr.org Cilley's North Country Roots Not Enough Democratic Gubernatorial Candidates Hustle For Votes http://nhpr.org/post/democratic-gubernatorial-candidates-hustle-votes <p>Former Exeter state senator Maggie Hassan was out early this morning, working the breakfast crowd in Manchester’s Chez Vachon restaurant.</p><p>"Democrat?"</p><p>"Yes, and I’m running for governor. I am running for Governor and worked very closely with Governor Lynch when I was in the state senate."</p> Mon, 10 Sep 2012 21:21:30 +0000 Josh Rogers 12630 at http://nhpr.org Democratic Gubernatorial Candidates Hustle For Votes Democrats Face Off In Primary Debate http://nhpr.org/post/democrats-face-primary-debate <p>With just under a week before primary day the Democratic Candidates for Governor met in Goffstown for their first televised debate. But anyone hoping for clear contrasts between the two leading candidates -- &nbsp;former state Senators Maggie Hassan and Jackie Cilley -- were likely disappointed. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 03:56:44 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 12319 at http://nhpr.org Gubernatorial TV Spots Analyzed http://nhpr.org/post/gubernatorial-tv-spots-analyzed <p>You might have seen more than a few political TV ads this summer. Many candidates are gearing up for the general election this November, but New Hampshire still has a Primary coming on September 11<sup>th</sup>. Granite Staters will be voting to winnow the field of candidates for governor, and these candidates are using TV commercials as part of their campaign strategy.</p><p>To analyze these ads we spoke with…</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 20:55:19 +0000 Ryan Lessard 11434 at http://nhpr.org Gubernatorial TV Spots Analyzed Cilley Defends Her Voting Record http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-defends-her-voting-record <p>Democratic candidate for Governor Jackie Cilley is defending breaking with her party to oppose mandatory seatbelt laws and banning pay-day loans. Former State Senator Cilley defended her record on NHPR’s the Exchange with Laura Knoy. Her primary opponent Maggie Hassan has criticized her refusal to support a seatbelt law and outlaw payday loans.</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 19:24:16 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 11453 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Defends Her Voting Record Cilley Stumps With Firefighters (and free food) http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-stumps-firefighters-and-free-food <p>The professional firefighters are one of several public sector unions to back Jackie Cilley in the democratic primary. At a firehouse in Manchester, Cilley said the state needs to do better by public employees, and to do that, she says, will require more than simply winning the concern office.</p><p>"I would ask you to support those who are running for rational policies and common sense in our statehouse because we have a state to take back and take forward."</p> Tue, 21 Aug 2012 20:12:46 +0000 Josh Rogers 11305 at http://nhpr.org Meet The N.H. Gubernatorial Candidates http://nhpr.org/post/meet-nh-gubernatorial-candidates <p><a href="http://www.jackiecilley.com/"><strong>Jackie Cilley (D) </strong></a></p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 18:38:01 +0000 Emily Burwen 7617 at http://nhpr.org Meet The N.H. Gubernatorial Candidates Jackie Cilley: Five Days In The North Country http://nhpr.org/post/jackie-cilley-five-days-north-country <p>There are three Democratic hopefuls in the gubernatorial primary this September. One is Jackie Cilley, an outspoken Berlin native. She&rsquo;s not shy about not taking the pledge. She says ideologues in the legislature are embarrassing and undermining the state. And she says in crucial ways the government is failing its citizens and businesses. Thu, 12 Jul 2012 21:11:49 +0000 Chris Jensen 8643 at http://nhpr.org Jackie Cilley: Five Days In The North Country SEA Endorses Jackie Cilley http://nhpr.org/post/sea-endorses-jackie-cilley <div><p>One of the state&rsquo;s largest public unions, the State Employees Association, endorsed democratic gubernatorial candidate Jackie Cilley&nbsp;on Monday.</p><p>SEA President Diana Lacey cites Cilley&rsquo;s refusal to take the state pledge against new broad-based taxes and her commitment to collaborative leadership as the most significant factors in the union&rsquo;s decision.</p><p>&ldquo;It wasn&rsquo;t just the pledge. It&rsquo;s the manner in which we anticipate Jackie will lead.&rdquo;</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2012 21:27:40 +0000 Ryan Lessard 7116 at http://nhpr.org SEA Endorses Jackie Cilley Democratic Candidates for Governor Meet in First Debate http://nhpr.org/post/democratic-candidates-governor-meet-first-debate <p>The three Democratic&nbsp;candidates for New Hampshire Governor &ndash; Jackie Cilley,&nbsp;Maggie Hassan, and Bill Kennedy &ndash; met at New England College for their first debate.</p><p dir="LTR">The three&nbsp;outlined&nbsp;their views on an income tax, which&nbsp;is seen as&nbsp;the most controversial difference between the three candidates.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 31 May 2012 19:39:46 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 5920 at http://nhpr.org Contraception Fight Heading To House Floor http://nhpr.org/post/contraception-fight-heading-house-floor <p>House Speaker&nbsp;William O&#39;Brien&#39;s&nbsp;bill to allow&nbsp;any employer with a religious&nbsp;objection to&nbsp;exclude contraception coverage from&nbsp;employee&nbsp;health plans&nbsp;draws fire from&nbsp;Democrats and leaves&nbsp;GOP Gubernatorial hopefuls leery.</p><p>Democrats&rsquo; problems with this bill are by far the more pronounced. Gubernatorial hopeful Jackie Cilley, for instance, has urged supporters to &ldquo;take to the streets&rdquo; over the issue. Fellow candidate Maggie Hassan, meanwhile, took to the statehouse for a morning press conference.</p> Tue, 06 Mar 2012 23:19:51 +0000 Josh Rogers 2332 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Declares For Governor http://nhpr.org/post/cilley-declares-governor <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 23:05:45 +0000 Josh Rogers 1748 at http://nhpr.org Cilley Declares For Governor