Senate Republicans Name Committee Leadership

Dec 12, 2016


Credit Allegra Boverman for NHPR

  Republican Senate President Chuck Morse has named committee chairs for the upcoming session.

Committees help shape policy and revise bills as they work through the legislative process. The Finance Committee and the Ways and Means Committee will have particular power in the upcoming year as lawmakers craft the next state budget.

Sen. Gary Daniels of Milford will chair the Finance Committee, which determines how money is allocated in the budget. Sen. Andy Sanborn of Bedford will lead Ways and Means, which estimates tax revenues that determine how much money can be spent.

Both Daniels and Sanborn are fiscal conservatives.