New Hampshire Public Radio http://nhpr.org en Gaza Conflict Day 16: Here's What You Need To Know http://nhpr.org/post/gaza-conflict-day-16-heres-what-you-need-know Amid another day of fighting, Secretary of State John Kerry landed in Tel Aviv on Wednesday and began a whirlwind session of shuttle diplomacy.<p>As NPR's Michelle Kelemen, who is traveling with Kerry, tells our Newscast unit, Kerry is "trying to talk to everybody" to see if he can broker a cease-fire and perhaps lay the groundwork for longer-term negotiations over the future of Gaza.<p>The Israeli offensive against Hamas in the Gaza strip is now entering its 16th day. Here's what you need to know:<p>-- Kerry has already met with U.N. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:11:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 52421 at http://nhpr.org Gaza Conflict Day 16: Here's What You Need To Know Program Helps Lawyers Set Up Shop In Underserved Areas http://nhpr.org/post/program-helps-lawyers-set-shop-underserved-areas Imagine you’re fresh out of law school. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 10:53:12 +0000 Steve Zind 52420 at http://nhpr.org Program Helps Lawyers Set Up Shop In Underserved Areas UNH Reports Record Fundraising Year http://nhpr.org/post/unh-reports-record-fundraising-year <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The University of New Hampshire raised a record $49.2 million in private donations last year, with the largest gift accounting for about 40 percent of the total.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The results for the fiscal year ending June 30 were 35 percent above the previous year's record of $35.8 million.</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 10:33:02 +0000 Associated Press 52418 at http://nhpr.org UNH Reports Record Fundraising Year The Washington Football Team That Must Not Be Named http://nhpr.org/post/washington-football-team-must-not-be-named Anybody who possesses a scintilla of good taste (and/or decency) is against the Washington football team using its longtime nickname. I don't have to scrounge for Brownie points by getting all indignant about it.<p>The one person who is most adamant about keeping the name is Daniel Snyder, who owns the Washington football franchise, and who appears to be either especially stubborn, or insensitive or both.<p>The obscene nickname is, of course, Redskins, and increasingly it's been suggested that we in the media should stop saying or writing it.<p>It's certainly an original proposition. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 10:10:00 +0000 Frank Deford 52419 at http://nhpr.org The Washington Football Team That Must Not Be Named Skype A Vital Bridge For Palestinians In West Bank, Gaza http://nhpr.org/post/skype-vital-bridge-palestinians-west-bank-gaza By most accounts, the war between Israel and Hamas is getting worse. As the casualties mount, so does the frustration of Palestinian families living apart who rarely if ever get to see each other. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson 52415 at http://nhpr.org Don't Make Me Come Back There: Toyota's New Parent-Friendly Options http://nhpr.org/post/dont-make-me-come-back-there-toyotas-new-parent-friendly-options The new Sienna minivan has an optional pull-down mirror to allow better surveillance of the backseat, and a "Driver Easy Speak" feature that lets you speak to the kids without shouting. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:24:00 +0000 52416 at http://nhpr.org $500,000 Gets You A 170-Foot-Tall Ketchup Bottle In Illinois http://nhpr.org/post/500000-gets-you-170-foot-tall-ketchup-bottle-illinois The condiment container towers above the former Brooks Old Original and Tangy Ketchup factory. The company moved out decades ago; now the space is for sale. It doesn't come with a giant side of fries. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:19:00 +0000 52417 at http://nhpr.org California Nurses Union Braces For Contract Battle http://nhpr.org/post/california-nurses-union-braces-contract-battle Going to a union meeting of nurses is a little bit like going to an evangelical church service.<p>"We all have to stand up, and it's a struggle," says Veronica Cambra, a nurse reporting a grievance at Kaiser Hospital in Fremont, Calif., as though she's giving testimony. "And we will overcome this, OK?"<p>The rest of the nurses respond with the passion of a devout congregation, humming "Mmm hmmm," and "That's right," through the series of speeches.<p>But this is no church service. The California Nurses Association is rousing its troops for battle. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 52414 at http://nhpr.org California Nurses Union Braces For Contract Battle The Challenge Of Keeping Tabs On The NSA's Secretive Work http://nhpr.org/post/challenge-keeping-tabs-nsas-secretive-work Here's a question with no easy answer: How do you hold the nation's spy agencies accountable — when they control the secrets?<p>Former National Security Agency contractor Edward Snowden apparently thought the answer was to blow the lid off some of the NSA's highly classified programs. He took documents and shared them with journalists.<p>But what about Congress? It's supposed to oversee the NSA — and other spy agencies. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 David Welna 52413 at http://nhpr.org The Challenge Of Keeping Tabs On The NSA's Secretive Work Congress And Biden Aim For Job Training That Actually Leads to Jobs http://nhpr.org/post/congress-and-biden-aim-job-training-actually-leads-jobs Something pretty remarkable happened Tuesday afternoon in a small windowless auditorium next door to the White House. President Obama signed a new law: the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.<p>It streamlines and updates the nation's job training programs and was 11 years overdue. The bill got overwhelming bipartisan support in both the House and Senate.<p>"Folks in Congress got past their differences; they got a bill to my desk," Obama said at the signing ceremony. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 52412 at http://nhpr.org Congress And Biden Aim For Job Training That Actually Leads to Jobs UNH Hockey Coach Indicted On Assault Charges http://nhpr.org/post/unh-hockey-coach-indicted-assault-charges <p>Former UNH womens’ hockey coach Brian McCloskey has been indicted on three counts of simple assault against a player on his team.</p><p></p><p>The state is also charging McCloskey of criminal threatening.&nbsp; The indictment states McCloskey placed his body on top of the players, pulled her backward by her jersey, and pushed and/or pulled her by her helmet while shouting at her.</p><p></p><p>The University fired McCloskey in December following an investigation into a November game against Ohio State.</p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 03:33:59 +0000 Emily Corwin 52411 at http://nhpr.org Fruit Recall Hits Trader Joe's, Costco, Wal-Mart Stores http://nhpr.org/post/fruit-recall-hits-trader-joes-costco-wal-mart-stores Fears of possible listeria contamination have led to a national recall of whole peaches, nectarines and other fruits packed by a California company. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:13:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 52410 at http://nhpr.org Flight MH17: U.S. Builds Its Case; Plane Wreckage Reportedly Cut Apart http://nhpr.org/post/flight-mh17-us-builds-its-case-plane-wreckage-reportedly-cut-apart American analysts say they've verified several pieces of evidence that show pro-Russian separatist rebels shot down Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17, according to U.S. intelligence officials who briefed reporters Tuesday.<p>Here's a quick rundown of the officials' updates on what U.S. investigators have found, from notes taken by NPR's Pentagon reporter Tom Bowman:<p><ul><p><li>A U.S. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:57:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 52409 at http://nhpr.org Flight MH17: U.S. Builds Its Case; Plane Wreckage Reportedly Cut Apart Maine City Council Votes To Keep Tar Sands Out Of Its Port http://nhpr.org/post/maine-city-council-votes-keep-tar-sands-out-its-port South Portland, Maine, is known as the place where Liberty ships were built by tens of thousands of workers during World War II. Now, the city's waterfront is home to an oil terminal and the beginning of a 236-mile-long pipeline.<p>For more than 70 years, the Portland Montreal Pipeline Corp. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Susan Sharon 52408 at http://nhpr.org Maine City Council Votes To Keep Tar Sands Out Of Its Port Book Review: 'Angels Make Their Hope Here' http://nhpr.org/post/book-review-angels-make-their-hope-here Alan Cheuse reviews Angels Make Their Hope Here, by Breena Clarke. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:47:00 +0000 Alan Cheuse 52407 at http://nhpr.org