Built in 1800, the Meetinghouse in Fremont was used for both town and church meetings.
The nearby Hearse House was built in 1849.
As part of our occasional series Marking History, NHPR’s Michael Brindley visits the historical marker in Fremont commemorating both buildings and talks with a local historian about what makes them unique.
Thomas discusses the slave pew located in the northeast corner of the second-floor gallery.
Fremont has four other historical markers, including two about famous riots.