Scott Horsley http://nhpr.org en Perry Meeting On Immigration Crisis Constructive, Obama Says http://nhpr.org/post/perry-meeting-immigration-crisis-constructive-obama-says President Obama met with Texas Gov. Rick Perry to hear his concerns about the surge of migrant children flooding into his state. Obama says Congress needs to provide the money to deal with the issue. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 51644 at http://nhpr.org Obama Stumps In Colorado, With Women's Vote As Backdrop http://nhpr.org/post/obama-stumps-colorado-womens-vote-backdrop In Colorado, where President Obama's approval rating is low and the Senate race is tight, Democratic incumbent Mark Udall largely bowed out of the spotlight of the president's visit Wednesday.<p>But as Obama made the rounds speaking about the economy and raising money for Democratic congressional candidates, he also spoke about the women's issues that could be key to Udall's electoral success.<p>At a morning outdoor rally in Denver's Cheesman Park, Obama emphasized just how much is on the line in the midterms.<p>"So far this year, Republicans have blocked or voted down every serious idea to st Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:46:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 51632 at http://nhpr.org Obama Stumps In Colorado, With Women's Vote As Backdrop Obama To Ask Congress For $2B To Ease Immigration Crisis http://nhpr.org/post/obama-ask-congress-2b-ease-immigration-crisis The Obama administration will ask Congress for more than $2 billion Tuesday to address the urgent humanitarian crisis along the U.S. border with Mexico.<p>In the past nine months, more than 50,000 children and teenagers have crossed that border illegally on their own, most from Central America. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 07:37:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 51485 at http://nhpr.org Obama To Ask Congress For $2B To Ease Immigration Crisis Supreme Court To Rule On Hobby Lobby Contraception Case http://nhpr.org/post/supreme-court-rule-hobby-lobby-contraception-case Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, BYLINE: Here in Washington, the U.S. Supreme Court wraps up its term today. And once again, we are waiting for a major decision on the Affordable Care Act. The High Court is set to rule on whether the health insurance that for-profit employers offer to their workers has to include birth control even if the employer has a religious objection. Our colleague Steve Inskeep spoke to NPR White House correspondent Scott Horsley about the case.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The Affordable Care Act has already been before the U.S. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 51063 at http://nhpr.org Tea Party Candidate Uses Immigration Issue To Beat Cantor http://nhpr.org/post/tea-party-candidate-uses-immigration-issue-beat-cantor Already dim prospects for an immigration overhaul got even dimmer after Republican House Leader Eric Cantor lost his primary this week. What does this mean for Republicans going forward? Thu, 12 Jun 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 50096 at http://nhpr.org Obama Acts To Ease Student Loan Payments http://nhpr.org/post/obama-acts-ease-student-loan-payments Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. It's graduation time on college campuses around the country - a time for students and their families to celebrate. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 10:21:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 49962 at http://nhpr.org Wait Times Scandal At VA Moves To Front Burner http://nhpr.org/post/wait-times-scandal-va-moves-front-burner President Obama promised accountability for problems at the Department of Veterans Affairs after meeting with Secretary Eric Shinseki. The secretary has been on the hot seat since allegations surfaced last month about a possible cover-up of long wait times at a Phoenix VA medical center. Wed, 21 May 2014 20:10:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 48915 at http://nhpr.org How Big A Factor Will Obamacare Be In Midterm Elections? http://nhpr.org/post/how-big-factor-will-obamacare-be-midterm-elections Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>Voters are choosing congressional nominees in half a dozen state primaries today, from the Pacific Northwest to the Deep South. Those states also run the gamut in their experience with the Affordable Care Act.<p>Now that the first insurance sign-up period has ended, we thought we'd take this opportunity to explore how the law is playing politically, and gauge what effect Obamacare might have on the midterm elections in November.<p>To help us with that, we're joined by NPR's Scott Horsley. Tue, 20 May 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 48787 at http://nhpr.org Forecast Predicts A Shift Away From Employer-Sponsored Insurance http://nhpr.org/post/forecast-predicts-shift-away-employer-sponsored-insurance Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama's pick to head the Department of Health and Human Services is winning some Republican support. The president chose Sylvia Matthews Burwell to take over from the embattled outgoing secretary, Kathleen Sebelius. And today, Burwell appeared before the Senate Health Committee. Thu, 08 May 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 48178 at http://nhpr.org Obama Sounds Alarm Bell On Climate Change. Is Anyone Listening? http://nhpr.org/post/obama-sounds-alarm-bell-climate-change-anyone-listening Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Everybody makes conversation about the weather. And today that includes President Obama. He's appearing on three network TV shows to discuss a new government report on climate change. It's on a day when the president also visits Arkansas to survey the damage from last week's tornadoes.<p>The president says he wants to do more than talk. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 48044 at http://nhpr.org Poised And Persistent, Reporter Broke White House Color Barrier http://nhpr.org/post/poised-and-persistent-reporter-broke-white-house-color-barrier Hollywood starlets will mingle with politicians and even humble reporters in Washington on Saturday night. That can only mean one thing: the annual White House Correspondents' Dinner. Sat, 03 May 2014 15:08:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 47844 at http://nhpr.org Poised And Persistent, Reporter Broke White House Color Barrier Minimum Wage Raise: Blocked For Now, May Live Again In Campaigns http://nhpr.org/post/minimum-wage-raise-blocked-now-may-live-again-campaigns Senate Republicans blocked a vote Wednesday on a bill to raise the nation's minimum wage. But don't expect that to be the end of the story.<p>For more than a year now, Democrats, including President Obama, have been pushing to boost the minimum wage. Their latest target is $10.10 an hour.<p>GOP critics argue that would depress hiring in an already weak job market.<p>But raising the wage is popular with voters, and Democrats plan to make the issue a rallying cry between now and the November elections. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 47690 at http://nhpr.org Following Enrollment Deadline, Health Care Focus Turns To States http://nhpr.org/post/following-enrollment-deadline-health-care-focus-turns-states President Obama met Thursday with insurance company executives and a separate group of insurance regulators from the states, discussing their mutual interest in administering the new health care law. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 46955 at http://nhpr.org As Sebelius Steps Down, Obama Taps Budget Director To Replace Her http://nhpr.org/post/sebelius-steps-down-obama-taps-budget-director-replace-her Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius got a fond farewell today from President Obama. She's resigning after a rocky tenure marred by the botched rollout of the government's health insurance exchange last fall. The president's tapping his budget director, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, to replace Sebelius. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 46633 at http://nhpr.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius To Step Down http://nhpr.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-step-down The move comes about 6 months after the disastrous roll out of the health insurance website. It was eventually fixed, but not before delivering a severe blow to the president's approval ratings. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 46582 at http://nhpr.org