Chris Arnold http://nhpr.org en One More Speed Bump For Your Retirement Fund: Basic Human Impulse http://nhpr.org/post/one-more-speed-bump-your-retirement-fund-basic-human-impulse Saving for retirement is a challenge facing most Americans. Research shows the challenge is made harder by our basic human impulses. We know we should be saving. But we don't. We consistently make bad financial decisions.<p>One thing that leads us astray is what behavioral economists call "loss aversion." In other words, we hate losing. And that gets in the way of us winning — if winning is making smart financial decisions.<p><strong>How A Smashed Car Is Like A Smashed Nest Egg</strong><p>A few months ago I got rear-ended and my Jeep Cherokee was totaled. It's the first new car I ever bought. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 46176 at http://nhpr.org One More Speed Bump For Your Retirement Fund: Basic Human Impulse Big Thinkers Discuss How To Prevent Next Financial Crisis http://nhpr.org/post/big-thinkers-discuss-how-prevent-next-financial-crisis Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>People who think big thoughts about the financial system gathered in Boston yesterday. They were asking how to prevent the next financial crisis.<p>NPR's Chris Arnold reports.<p>CHRIS ARNOLD, BYLINE: Speaking to a room full of bankers and regulators, former Senator Chris Dodd took people back to a moment in 2008. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 10:13:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 45961 at http://nhpr.org Bipartisan Plan Reached On Fannie-Freddie Overhaul http://nhpr.org/post/bipartisan-plan-reached-fannie-freddie-overhaul Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Senate lawmakers, this week, are announcing a bipartisan plan to overhaul the nation's mortgage market. The stock prices of the government-controlled mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac plunged on the news.<p>NPR's Chris Arnold has our report.<p>CHRIS ARNOLD, BYLINE: If Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were houses, it'd be fair to say that they had a serious wiring problem which blew up when the financial crisis hit. And the government took them over to get the lights back on. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 10:02:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 44924 at http://nhpr.org Signs Point To A Slowing U.S. Housing Market http://nhpr.org/post/signs-point-slowing-us-housing-market After rising sharply in 2013, home prices in many areas are leveling off. An interesting and worrisome development for most Americans because their home is often their most valuable asset. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 44782 at http://nhpr.org Severe Weather Socks The Economy, But Full Impact Is Unclear http://nhpr.org/post/severe-weather-socks-economy-full-impact-unclear The economy often absorbs the impact of snowstorms, such as <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/03/285171762/what-a-blast-wicked-winter-storm-spreads-across-nation" target="_blank">this week's storm</a>, without much trouble, but this winter the weather is doing more damage than usual.<p>Sal Sambataro, the manager of Il Cortile in Manhattan, says that when the weather is better, people are packed into the family-owned Italian restaurant. On a recent day, though, the temperature is close to 15 degrees and the doorman wears a furry hat. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 22:24:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 44528 at http://nhpr.org Severe Weather Socks The Economy, But Full Impact Is Unclear Grounded And Confounded, Airlines Wait For Storms To Pass http://nhpr.org/post/grounded-and-confounded-airlines-wait-storms-pass The snow and ice storms sweeping the East Coast have been felt not only on the ground but in the air, as well. Airlines are cancelling thousands of flights, and both the companies and their passengers have had to deal with the fallout. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 21:42:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 43532 at http://nhpr.org January Job Growth Disappoints, But Unemployment Drops http://nhpr.org/post/january-job-growth-disappoints-unemployment-drops The U.S. added just 113,000 jobs in January, instead of the 180,000 analysts had predicted. Despite the anemic gains, the unemployment rate inched down to 6.6 percent, the lowest level since October 2008. Sat, 08 Feb 2014 14:43:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 43236 at http://nhpr.org MIT Housing Survey Focuses On 70 Metro Areas http://nhpr.org/post/mit-housing-survey-focuses-70-metro-areas A new report from the MIT Center for Real Estate forecasts home prices in 60 U.S. cities. Whether housing prices are going up or down depends on where you live. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 10:57:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 42361 at http://nhpr.org Small-Batch Distilleries Ride The Craft Liquor Wave http://nhpr.org/post/small-batch-distilleries-ride-craft-liquor-wave Wherever you live, you're probably not too far from a local microbrewery making beer. Now, the latest trend is the spread of what you might call "micro-boozeries."<strong> </strong>Craft liquor distilleries are springing up around the country like little wellheads spouting gin, whiskey and rum.<p><a href="http://www.turkeyshoredistilleries.com/" target="_blank">Turkey Shore Distilleries</a> in Ipswich, Mass., is one of them.<p>Co-founder Evan Parker<strong> </strong>boils molasses in a giant, 400-gallon copper kettle to distill what the company calls Old Ipswich Rum. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 22:54:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 42277 at http://nhpr.org Small-Batch Distilleries Ride The Craft Liquor Wave December Jobs Report Has Analysts Flummoxed http://nhpr.org/post/december-jobs-report-has-analysts-flummoxed Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon. Yesterday's jobs report came as something of a surprise after several months of positive economic news. Employers added just 74,000 jobs. Economists had been expecting businesses to generate nearly three times that many. A few people were heartened by the fact that the unemployment rate fell to 6.7 percent, the lowest since October 2008. Sat, 11 Jan 2014 16:31:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 41663 at http://nhpr.org For The Unemployed, Ideas To Help Bridge The Gap To Work http://nhpr.org/post/unemployed-ideas-help-bridge-gap-work When members of Congress return to work next week, at the top of the "to-do" list is whether to renew emergency unemployment benefits. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 23:18:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 41154 at http://nhpr.org For The Unemployed, Ideas To Help Bridge The Gap To Work Home Prices Mark Biggest Gains Since 2006 http://nhpr.org/post/home-prices-mark-biggest-gains-2006 Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And before the ball dropped in Times Square last night, new numbers came out on the housing market, and they showed the past year saw the biggest gains in home prices since 2006.<p>NPR's Chris Arnold reports.<p>CHRIS ARNOLD, BYLINE: The housing market recovery kicked into high gear last year. And that's in large part because at the start of the year, back last winter, it was just a great time to buy a house. Interest rates were at record lows. Home prices hadn't risen that much yet in many areas. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 10:20:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 41060 at http://nhpr.org Cars Are Next Frontier For Sharing Services http://nhpr.org/post/cars-are-new-frontier-sharing-services Following the popularity of companies like Airbnb, which rent out a client's house or apartment to people visiting the area, more companies are trying the idea with cars. Companies like Uber help find someone to drive you around like a taxi. Another will let you rent out your car like a Zipcar while you're at work. <br /> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 10:29:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 40824 at http://nhpr.org Cars Are Next Frontier For Sharing Services Pressure Mounts On Fast-Food Industry To Pay Workers More http://nhpr.org/post/pressure-mounts-fast-food-industry-pay-workers-more Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>Protests are planned at fast-food chain restaurants 100 American cities today. Unions are staging these protests as part of a campaign to press the industry to pay more than the minimum wage. In fact, organizers are calling for $15 per hour. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 10:01:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 39594 at http://nhpr.org Photos: Comet ISON May Have Survived Its Blistering Encounter http://nhpr.org/post/photos-comet-ison-may-have-survived-its-blistering-encounter The Comet ISON appears to have survived after disappearing and being thought dead. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 18:05:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 39299 at http://nhpr.org Photos: Comet ISON May Have Survived Its Blistering Encounter