Chris Arnold http://nhpr.org en T-Mobile Accused Of Billing Customers With Bogus Fees http://nhpr.org/post/t-mobile-accused-billing-customers-bogus-fees The Federal Trade Commission says the illegal charges were for premium services customers didn't order. T-Mobile says the suit is unfounded, and that it stopped billing for the services last year. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 51194 at http://nhpr.org SEC To Focus Oversight On High-Speed Trading http://nhpr.org/post/sec-focus-oversight-high-speed-trading Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>NPR's Business News starts with a modest crackdown on high-speed trading. The Securities and Exchange Commission is taking new steps to regulate high-speed trading on Wall Street though it's not as if the head of the SEC is that worried as NPR's Chris Arnold reports.<p>CHRIS ARNOLD, BYLINE: The author Michael Lewis brought a lot of attention to high-speed trading with his book "Flash Boys" and his claim that the stack market is rigged. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 49796 at http://nhpr.org GOP Demonizes Once Favored Cap-And-Trade Policy http://nhpr.org/post/gop-demonizes-once-favored-cap-and-trade-policy Republicans say the Environmental Protection Agency will kill jobs and raise electricity prices with new carbon emissions limits. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 09:31:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 49596 at http://nhpr.org GOP Demonizes Once Favored Cap-And-Trade Policy Foreclosure Overhaul Comes Too Slowly For Many Homeowners http://nhpr.org/post/foreclosure-overhaul-comes-too-slowly-many-homeowners The biggest U.S. banks are still foreclosing on homeowners who qualify for new loans, according to a coalition of non-profits. That's despite settlements aimed at preventing unnecessary foreclosures. Tue, 20 May 2014 09:12:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 48786 at http://nhpr.org Missing In The Housing Recovery: New Houses http://nhpr.org/post/missing-housing-recovery-new-houses More than five years after the crash, homebuilding is stuck at half its normal level. That's a big drag on the economy. And things aren't looking much better: A report out Thursday shows homebuilder confidence is <a href="http://www.nahb.org/news_details.aspx?newsID=16817">at its lowest level in a year</a>.<p>This severe slump in single-family home construction has been going on across the country. We haven't seen anything close to this kind of a long-term construction slump since World War II.<p>"This is a completely unprecedented collapse," says Ian Shepherdson, chief U.S. Thu, 15 May 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 48584 at http://nhpr.org Missing In The Housing Recovery: New Houses One More Speed Bump For Your Retirement Fund: Basic Human Impulse http://nhpr.org/post/one-more-speed-bump-your-retirement-fund-basic-human-impulse Saving for retirement is a challenge facing most Americans. Research shows the challenge is made harder by our basic human impulses. We know we should be saving. But we don't. We consistently make bad financial decisions.<p>One thing that leads us astray is what behavioral economists call "loss aversion." In other words, we hate losing. And that gets in the way of us winning — if winning is making smart financial decisions.<p><strong>How A Smashed Car Is Like A Smashed Nest Egg</strong><p>A few months ago I got rear-ended and my Jeep Cherokee was totaled. It's the first new car I ever bought. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 46176 at http://nhpr.org One More Speed Bump For Your Retirement Fund: Basic Human Impulse Big Thinkers Discuss How To Prevent Next Financial Crisis http://nhpr.org/post/big-thinkers-discuss-how-prevent-next-financial-crisis Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>People who think big thoughts about the financial system gathered in Boston yesterday. They were asking how to prevent the next financial crisis.<p>NPR's Chris Arnold reports.<p>CHRIS ARNOLD, BYLINE: Speaking to a room full of bankers and regulators, former Senator Chris Dodd took people back to a moment in 2008. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 10:13:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 45961 at http://nhpr.org Bipartisan Plan Reached On Fannie-Freddie Overhaul http://nhpr.org/post/bipartisan-plan-reached-fannie-freddie-overhaul Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Senate lawmakers, this week, are announcing a bipartisan plan to overhaul the nation's mortgage market. The stock prices of the government-controlled mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac plunged on the news.<p>NPR's Chris Arnold has our report.<p>CHRIS ARNOLD, BYLINE: If Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were houses, it'd be fair to say that they had a serious wiring problem which blew up when the financial crisis hit. And the government took them over to get the lights back on. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 10:02:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 44924 at http://nhpr.org Signs Point To A Slowing U.S. Housing Market http://nhpr.org/post/signs-point-slowing-us-housing-market After rising sharply in 2013, home prices in many areas are leveling off. An interesting and worrisome development for most Americans because their home is often their most valuable asset. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 44782 at http://nhpr.org Severe Weather Socks The Economy, But Full Impact Is Unclear http://nhpr.org/post/severe-weather-socks-economy-full-impact-unclear The economy often absorbs the impact of snowstorms, such as <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/03/285171762/what-a-blast-wicked-winter-storm-spreads-across-nation" target="_blank">this week's storm</a>, without much trouble, but this winter the weather is doing more damage than usual.<p>Sal Sambataro, the manager of Il Cortile in Manhattan, says that when the weather is better, people are packed into the family-owned Italian restaurant. On a recent day, though, the temperature is close to 15 degrees and the doorman wears a furry hat. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 22:24:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 44528 at http://nhpr.org Severe Weather Socks The Economy, But Full Impact Is Unclear Grounded And Confounded, Airlines Wait For Storms To Pass http://nhpr.org/post/grounded-and-confounded-airlines-wait-storms-pass The snow and ice storms sweeping the East Coast have been felt not only on the ground but in the air, as well. Airlines are cancelling thousands of flights, and both the companies and their passengers have had to deal with the fallout. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 21:42:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 43532 at http://nhpr.org January Job Growth Disappoints, But Unemployment Drops http://nhpr.org/post/january-job-growth-disappoints-unemployment-drops The U.S. added just 113,000 jobs in January, instead of the 180,000 analysts had predicted. Despite the anemic gains, the unemployment rate inched down to 6.6 percent, the lowest level since October 2008. Sat, 08 Feb 2014 14:43:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 43236 at http://nhpr.org MIT Housing Survey Focuses On 70 Metro Areas http://nhpr.org/post/mit-housing-survey-focuses-70-metro-areas A new report from the MIT Center for Real Estate forecasts home prices in 60 U.S. cities. Whether housing prices are going up or down depends on where you live. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 10:57:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 42361 at http://nhpr.org Small-Batch Distilleries Ride The Craft Liquor Wave http://nhpr.org/post/small-batch-distilleries-ride-craft-liquor-wave Wherever you live, you're probably not too far from a local microbrewery making beer. Now, the latest trend is the spread of what you might call "micro-boozeries."<strong> </strong>Craft liquor distilleries are springing up around the country like little wellheads spouting gin, whiskey and rum.<p><a href="http://www.turkeyshoredistilleries.com/" target="_blank">Turkey Shore Distilleries</a> in Ipswich, Mass., is one of them.<p>Co-founder Evan Parker<strong> </strong>boils molasses in a giant, 400-gallon copper kettle to distill what the company calls Old Ipswich Rum. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 22:54:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 42277 at http://nhpr.org Small-Batch Distilleries Ride The Craft Liquor Wave December Jobs Report Has Analysts Flummoxed http://nhpr.org/post/december-jobs-report-has-analysts-flummoxed Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon. Yesterday's jobs report came as something of a surprise after several months of positive economic news. Employers added just 74,000 jobs. Economists had been expecting businesses to generate nearly three times that many. A few people were heartened by the fact that the unemployment rate fell to 6.7 percent, the lowest since October 2008. Sat, 11 Jan 2014 16:31:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 41663 at http://nhpr.org