Jim Zarroli http://nhpr.org en Treasury Secretary Calls For Corporate Tax Code Overhaul http://nhpr.org/post/treasury-secretary-calls-corporate-tax-code-overhaul Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>U.S. Treasury Secretary Jacob Lew says, there has been an uptick in the number of U.S. corporations moving their headquarters overseas in an effort to pay less tax. In a moment, we'll talk to David Wessel about what's allowing these moves to happen. We begin with NPR's Jim Zarroli.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: In recent months there's been a small wave of U.S. companies doing what are called inversions - they merge with a foreign company and then move their legal headquarters overseas. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 52088 at http://nhpr.org Citigroup Settles Subprime Mortgage Case For $7 Billion http://nhpr.org/post/citigroup-settles-subprime-mortgage-case-7-billion Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Citigroup has agreed to settle allegations that it defrauded investors in the years leading up to the financial crisis. The settlement requires Citigroup to pay $7 billion. Two and a half billion will go toward mortgage relief for homeowners. Now, this settlement involves mortgage-backed securities the bank packaged and sold to investors, and it was announced this morning by U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder. We're going to talk this through with NPR's Jim Zarroli who's on the line. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 16:34:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 51891 at http://nhpr.org Report Shows 288,000 New Jobs In June http://nhpr.org/post/report-shows-288000-new-jobs-june Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Good morning. We begin this hour with more positive signs about the nation's economy. The Labor Department this morning said the U.S. unemployment rate fell to its lowest level in nearly six years last month, and employers added some 288,000 jobs to their payrolls. Here's NPR's Jim Zarroli.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The job growth was spread across the economy in business services, retail trade, manufacturing and even government hiring. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 51286 at http://nhpr.org Before The Holiday Weekend, Latest Jobless Report Is Issued http://nhpr.org/post/holiday-weekend-latest-jobless-report-issued Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We'll get an important snapshot of the U.S. economy today. The job market in this country has been racking up some healthy gains over the past few months. That trend is expected to continue. We'll find out if it does when the Labor Department releases its monthly jobs report later this morning. Here's a preview from NPR's Jim Zarroli.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The job market hit something of a milestone last month, employers added 217,000 jobs to their payrolls. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 10:07:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 51267 at http://nhpr.org French Bank To Pay $8.83 Billion In Sanctions Probe http://nhpr.org/post/french-bank-pay-883-billion-sanctions-probe Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This morning, top executives at France's largest bank, BNP Paribas, reassured investors that they have enough cash to pay a $9 billion penalty to the U.S. government. Late yesterday, the bank agreed to plead guilty to violating U.S. sanctions laws and accepted that $9 billion fine. It's the largest penalty ever imposed by the U.S. government for sanctions violations. The bank admitted it helped clients in Sudan and other countries evade U.S. trade embargoes through its New York office. And the U.S. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 51131 at http://nhpr.org BNP Paribas Agrees To Nearly $9 Billion Fine And Admission Of Guilt http://nhpr.org/post/bnp-paribas-agrees-nearly-9-billion-fine-and-admission-guilt Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Banking giant BNP Paribas has agreed to pay American regulators nearly $9 billion dollars to settle charges of economic sanctions violations. It's the largest such fine ever imposed by the U.S. The bank will plead guilty to two criminal charges. It was accused of helping clients in Sudan, Cuba and Iran conduct business in the United States. NPR's Jim Zarroli reports.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The charges were brought after a lengthy investigation that involved the Justice Department, the Federal Reserve and banking regulators in New York state. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 23:01:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 51121 at http://nhpr.org Absentee Ballots To Decide Whether Rep. Rangel Gets A 23rd Term http://nhpr.org/post/absentee-ballots-decide-whether-rep-rangel-gets-23rd-term Even though votes are still being counted, Rep. Charles Rangel has declared victory in his race against Adriano Espaillat. It could be more than a week before the results are available. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 09:19:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 50875 at http://nhpr.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms http://nhpr.org/post/us-foreign-mergers-raise-calls-tax-reforms This week the big medical device company Medtronic said it was moving its legal headquarters from Minneapolis to Ireland. It's part of a $43 billion merger with another medical company, Dublin-based Covidien.<p>The move is a tax-saving strategy called an inversion and it's growing more common in the corporate world.<p>U.S. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:57:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 50599 at http://nhpr.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms Lightning-Fast Trades Go Beneath The Congressional Microscope http://nhpr.org/post/lightning-fast-trades-go-beneath-congressional-microscope The Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations is holding a hearing on problems in the financial markets caused by high-frequency trading firms. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 50395 at http://nhpr.org Once A GOP Pillar, Chamber Of Commerce Is Now A Lightning Rod http://nhpr.org/post/once-gop-pillar-chamber-commerce-now-lightning-rod The Chamber of Commerce says it tried to help Eric Cantor in his primary campaign, but Cantor refused the offer. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:44:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 50159 at http://nhpr.org Political Rhetoric Bogs Down Future Of Keystone XL Pipeline http://nhpr.org/post/political-rhetoric-bogs-down-future-keystone-xl-pipeline Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. Last month the Obama administration put off a decision on whether to approve the Keystone XL pipeline. The project has been enormously controversial. It would carry crude oil from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. This morning we examine what's at stake for the oil industry and for energy production. Fri, 23 May 2014 10:59:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 49027 at http://nhpr.org AT&T To Buy DirecTV In Nearly $50 Billion Deal http://nhpr.org/post/att-buy-directv-nearly-50-billion-deal Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good Morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene.<p>If you've streamed a movie or a TV show recently, you are part of the problem facing cable and satellite providers. These companies are facing more and more competition from Internet streaming, and to survive, some are consolidating.<p>Yesterday, AT&T announced that it is buying a satellite TV provider DirecTV. Mon, 19 May 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 48719 at http://nhpr.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? http://nhpr.org/post/crowdfunding-can-help-build-business-what-cost Entrepreneur Andy Krafsur raised money for Spira Footwear by reaching out to friends and family. But that was a dozen years ago. After the economy tanked, the common tactic became a lot more difficult.<p>"The pool of people that you can go to has shrunken significantly," Krafsur says, "and everybody goes to those same people."<p>Then Krafsur found a crowdfunding website that helped his cash flow enormously. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 48199 at http://nhpr.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? Alibaba IPO Could Be The Biggest Ever http://nhpr.org/post/alibaba-ipo-could-be-biggest-ever Alibaba is the biggest e-commerce player in China. The Internet conglomerate is filing papers in the U.S. for what could be the biggest IPO ever. Tue, 06 May 2014 21:24:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 48018 at http://nhpr.org Buffett Defends Coke Position At Berkshire Hathaway Meeting http://nhpr.org/post/buffett-defends-coke-position-berkshire-hathaway-meeting Warren Buffett is under fire for not opposing Coca-Cola's executive compensation plan more aggressively. Buffett spoke about his decision at a shareholder meeting for his company Berkshire Hathaway. Mon, 05 May 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 47885 at http://nhpr.org