Tanya Ballard Brown http://nhpr.org en Hey Hey Hey! Historian Draws Attention To '70s Black Animation Art http://nhpr.org/post/hey-hey-hey-historian-draws-attention-70s-black-animation-art <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-WHnn_BPms</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiWEyUMm5Lo</p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 12:57:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 40703 at http://nhpr.org Hey Hey Hey! Historian Draws Attention To '70s Black Animation Art Dear Internet, It's Christmas. Please Stop Fighting About 'Love Actually' http://nhpr.org/post/dear-internet-its-christmas-please-stop-fighting-about-love-actually <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUm2K6eDuMU</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 21:04:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown & Beth Novey 40548 at http://nhpr.org Dear Internet, It's Christmas. Please Stop Fighting About 'Love Actually' The Case For — And Against — Loving 'Love Actually' http://nhpr.org/post/case-and-against-loving-love-actually <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKuDoTdxvb0</p> Sat, 14 Dec 2013 10:12:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown & Jen Chaney 40130 at http://nhpr.org The Case For — And Against — Loving 'Love Actually' How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs http://nhpr.org/post/how-about-coke-warhol-painting-grabs On Tuesday, artist Andy Warhol's oversized and iconic <em>Coca-Cola (3)</em> will <a href="http://www.christies.com/about/press-center/releases/pressrelease.aspx?pressreleaseid=6701">hit the auction block at Christie's</a>, and to borrow an old slogan from the company, It's The Real Thing.<p>Warhol painted the 6-foot-tall black-and-white canvas in 1962 as part of a series of four Coke bottle paintings. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 20:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 38398 at http://nhpr.org How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs Why Didn't The Store Just Let Oprah Buy The $38,000 Handbag? http://nhpr.org/post/why-didnt-store-just-let-oprah-buy-38000-handbag On the list of things to be outraged about at the moment, I'll admit this isn't at the top: The Swiss tourism office apologized to Oprah on Friday because she wasn't allowed to buy a $38,000 designer handbag while recently shopping in Switzerland. Poor lil' Oprah. *sad face*<p>It does make me wonder, though, can you ever be rich enough or famous enough or beautiful enough to not be racially profiled while shopping?<p>First, here's what happened. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 08:38:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 32935 at http://nhpr.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome http://nhpr.org/post/awkwardly-awaiting-zimmerman-trials-outcome <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRUfzs6I4jk</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:21:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 31217 at http://nhpr.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha http://nhpr.org/post/stuff-you-might-have-missed-paula-deen-brouhaha <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu6Us7fpr00</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 22:34:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 29851 at http://nhpr.org Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? http://nhpr.org/post/if-cute-cheerios-ad-causes-drama-what-wont <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYofm5d5Xdw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHh0bqD78b0</p> Sat, 01 Jun 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 28640 at http://nhpr.org If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? American Tribe Fights To Halt Artifact Auction In Paris http://nhpr.org/post/american-tribe-fights-halt-artifact-auction-paris An auction of sacred Native American artifacts scheduled for Friday in Paris is stirring up controversy on both sides of the Atlantic<p><a href="http://catalogue.drouot.com/indexDrouot.jsp?id=15197">Seventy Hopi "visages and headdresses</a>" — some more than 100 years old — will go on the block at the Neret-Minet Tessier & Sarrou auction house, which estimates the sale will bring in about $1 million, according to <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/04/arts/design/hopi-tribe-wants-to-stop-paris-auction-of-artifacts.html"><em>The New York Times</em></a><em>. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 19:56:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 25310 at http://nhpr.org Can U.S. Embassies Be Safe Without Being Unsightly? http://nhpr.org/post/can-us-embassies-be-safe-without-being-unsightly There's been a tug of war between aesthetically pleasing and safe when it comes to American embassies around the world.<p>Many embassies have been slammed as bunkers, bland cubes and lifeless compounds. Even the new Secretary of State John Kerry said just a few years ago, "We are building some of the ugliest embassies I've ever seen."<p>But the choice between gardens and gates isn't just academic for diplomats — it can affect the way they work. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 22:24:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 22696 at http://nhpr.org Can U.S. Embassies Be Safe Without Being Unsightly? No More 'Negro' For Census Bureau Forms And Surveys http://nhpr.org/post/no-more-negro-census-bureau-forms-and-surveys The Census Bureau announced Monday that it would drop the word "Negro" from its forms, after some described it as offensive. <a href="http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5i9Zk7ZwWM_p1_fHcNaRGp2rbyqlg?docId=45db7a55f5f540e4b1e121693c370ea7">According to the Associated Press</a>, the term will be replaced next year by black or African-American. From the AP:<p><blockquote><p>"The change will take effect next year when the Census Bureau distributes its annual American Community Survey to more than 3.5 million U.S. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 18:24:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 22590 at http://nhpr.org No More 'Negro' For Census Bureau Forms And Surveys Game On! Rare 1865 Baseball Card Sold For $80,000 http://nhpr.org/post/game-rare-1865-baseball-card-tossed-auction-block <strong>Update at 8:06 p.m. ET. Card Sells For $80,000</strong><p>The nearly 150-year-old <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brooklyn_Atlantics">Brooklyn Atlantics</a> baseball card that was was discovered late last year in a photo album bought at a yard sale has sold for $80,000 — $92,000 if you count the auction house's buyer's premium.<p>The buyer, <a href="http://www.pressherald.com/news/Rare-baseball-card-sells-for-80000-at-Biddeford-auction-house.html" target="_blank">the<em> Portland Press Herald</em> reports</a>, was Jason LeBlanc of Newburyport, Mass. Wed, 06 Feb 2013 21:13:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 21477 at http://nhpr.org Game On! Rare 1865 Baseball Card Sold For $80,000 Dear Lawyers: Order In The &*%# Court! http://nhpr.org/post/dear-lawyers-order-court <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BofddwtPBPw</p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 17:07:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 21103 at http://nhpr.org Dear Lawyers: Order In The &*%# Court! Our Pancakes Are Saved! Charges Filed In Canadian Maple Syrup Heist http://nhpr.org/post/our-pancakes-are-saved-charges-filed-canadian-maple-syrup-heist After months on their sticky trail, Canadian police have finally fingered the people allegedly involved in the great Canadian maple syrup caper <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/08/31/160401054/thieves-hit-warehouse-holding-30-million-of-canadian-maple-syrup">Bill Chappell told us about in August</a>.<p>While police interviewed 300 people, they didn't let that sap their strength — and on Tuesday, three men were expected in court to answer charges related to the theft of the estimated $22 million in maple syrup. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 23:23:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 18741 at http://nhpr.org Our Pancakes Are Saved! Charges Filed In Canadian Maple Syrup Heist A Black And White 1860s Fundraiser http://nhpr.org/post/black-and-white-1860s-fundraiser They look like any other 19th century vignettes and portraits of children kneeling in prayer or cloaked in the U.S. flag.<p>But these cartes de visite (a calling card with a portrait mounted on it that was all the rage during the 1860s) featured Charles, Rebecca and Rosa — former slave children who looked white.<p>I saw a couple of the cards on Tumblr and wanted to know more about them, so I called Mary Niall Mitchell, associate professor of history at the University of New Orleans. Mon, 10 Dec 2012 18:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 18196 at http://nhpr.org A Black And White 1860s Fundraiser