Kevin Smith http://nhpr.org en Income Tax Opponents Ramping Up Efforts To Get Out The Vote http://nhpr.org/post/income-tax-opponents-ramping-efforts-get-out-vote <p>Former gubernatorial candidate Kevin Smith will be heading up an effort to build support for the constitutional amendment banning an income tax. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 18:19:56 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 14260 at http://nhpr.org Income Tax Opponents Ramping Up Efforts To Get Out The Vote Lamontagne Defeats Smith, Secures Nomination http://nhpr.org/post/lamontagne-defeats-smith-secures-nomination <p>Ovide Lamontagne secured the Republican nomination for his gubernatorial bid. He beat challenger Kevin Smith and will go on to face Maggie Hassan in the general election in November.</p><p>(Chants of "Ovide, Ovide")</p><p>Ovide Lamontagne took the podium shortly after accepting rival Kevin Smith's concession. But he didn't bask in the glow of victory for long.</p><p>"Please savor the moment. Savor the moment, because it's over."</p><p>Lamontagne's race was one of the first called of the evening, and he wasted no time in setting his sights on his Democratic opponent.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 04:35:15 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 12735 at http://nhpr.org Lamontagne Defeats Smith, Secures Nomination Campaign Trails Cross For Smith And Lamontagne http://nhpr.org/post/campaign-trails-cross-smith-and-lamontagne-0 <p>GOP gubernatorial candidates Ovide Lamontagne and Kevin Smith spent the last day before the primary pressing the flesh.&nbsp; The two even campaigned together...sort of. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 21:53:23 +0000 12634 at http://nhpr.org Campaign Trails Cross For Smith And Lamontagne GOP Candidates Strive to Highlight Differences in Hooksett Forum http://nhpr.org/post/gop-candidates-strive-highlight-differences-hooksett-forum <p>GOP Candidates for Governor Ovide Lamontagne and Kevin Smith met in Hooksett last night to make their cases before republican voters.&nbsp;But despite their efforts the two continue to have a hard time drawing a sharp contrast between each other.</p><p>Lamontagne and Smith answered questions on everything from budgeting to education, gambling, the liquor commission, energy and the developmentally disabled.</p><p>The two biggest applause lines were for Smith pumping the recently passed voter ID bill –</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 02:23:53 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 11888 at http://nhpr.org GOP Candidates Strive to Highlight Differences in Hooksett Forum Gov. Candidate Kevin Smith Collects on LLC Loophole http://nhpr.org/post/gov-candidate-kevin-smith-collects-llc-loophole <p>No candidate in the&nbsp;&nbsp;2012 gubernatorial race benefited&nbsp;more from a major loophole in New Hampshire's&nbsp;<a href="http://www.nhpr.org/post/most-campaign-money-remains-hidden-new-hampshire">political-finance regulations</a>&nbsp;than&nbsp;Republican Kevin Smith.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 18:52:34 +0000 Brian Wallstin 11538 at http://nhpr.org Gov. Candidate Kevin Smith Collects on LLC Loophole Gubernatorial TV Spots Analyzed http://nhpr.org/post/gubernatorial-tv-spots-analyzed <p>You might have seen more than a few political TV ads this summer. Many candidates are gearing up for the general election this November, but New Hampshire still has a Primary coming on September 11<sup>th</sup>. Granite Staters will be voting to winnow the field of candidates for governor, and these candidates are using TV commercials as part of their campaign strategy.</p><p>To analyze these ads we spoke with…</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 20:55:19 +0000 Ryan Lessard 11434 at http://nhpr.org Gubernatorial TV Spots Analyzed Republican Gubernatorial Candidate Kevin Smith http://nhpr.org/post/republican-gubernatorial-candidate-kevin-smith-1 <p>We continue our coverage of the New Hampshire gubernatorial primary, Wednesday on the Exchange, with Republican Kevin Smith.</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 11286 at http://nhpr.org Republican Gubernatorial Candidate Kevin Smith Meet The N.H. Gubernatorial Candidates http://nhpr.org/post/meet-nh-gubernatorial-candidates <p><a href="http://www.jackiecilley.com/"><strong>Jackie Cilley (D) </strong></a></p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 18:38:01 +0000 Emily Burwen 7617 at http://nhpr.org Meet The N.H. Gubernatorial Candidates G.O.P. Candidates Have A Civil Debate http://nhpr.org/post/gop-candidates-have-civil-debate <p>Two Republican candidates for governor debated each other at an event in Manchester Wednesday night. Thu, 12 Jul 2012 20:26:38 +0000 Jonathan Lynch 8666 at http://nhpr.org Contraception Fight Heading To House Floor http://nhpr.org/post/contraception-fight-heading-house-floor <p>House Speaker&nbsp;William O&#39;Brien&#39;s&nbsp;bill to allow&nbsp;any employer with a religious&nbsp;objection to&nbsp;exclude contraception coverage from&nbsp;employee&nbsp;health plans&nbsp;draws fire from&nbsp;Democrats and leaves&nbsp;GOP Gubernatorial hopefuls leery.</p><p>Democrats&rsquo; problems with this bill are by far the more pronounced. Gubernatorial hopeful Jackie Cilley, for instance, has urged supporters to &ldquo;take to the streets&rdquo; over the issue. Fellow candidate Maggie Hassan, meanwhile, took to the statehouse for a morning press conference.</p> Tue, 06 Mar 2012 23:19:51 +0000 Josh Rogers 2332 at http://nhpr.org