Holidays http://nhpr.org en Special Programs Celebrating Thanksgiving http://nhpr.org/post/special-programs-celebrating-thanksgiving <p></p><p><strong><u>Thursday, Nov. 22<sup>th</sup></u></strong></p><p>9:00 - 10:00 am: &nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="http://americanpublicmedia.publicradio.org/programs/giving_thanks/" target="_blank">Giving Thanks 2012</a></p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 14:46:31 +0000 NHPR Staff 15397 at http://nhpr.org Special Programs Celebrating Thanksgiving Special Programs Celebrating Hanukkah & Christmas http://nhpr.org/post/special-programs-celebrating-hanukkah-christmas <p><strong><u>Friday, Dec. 7<sup>th</sup></u></strong></p><p>9:00 - 10:00 pm:&nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/hanukkah-lights/" target="_blank">Hanukkah Lights 2012</a></p><p>A perennial NPR favorite, <em>Hanukkah Lights</em> features Hanukkah stories and memoirs written by acclaimed authors expressly for the show, as read by NPR's <a href="https://www.nprstations.org/photobio/index.cfm?sid=susan_stamberg">Susan Stamberg</a> and Murray Horwitz.</p><p><strong><u>Sunday, Dec. 16<sup>th</sup> </u></strong></p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 14:44:14 +0000 NHPR Staff 15390 at http://nhpr.org Special Programs Celebrating Hanukkah & Christmas Special Programs Celebrating Kwanzaa & New Year's Eve http://nhpr.org/post/special-programs-celebrating-kwanzaa-new-years-eve <p><strong><u>Monday, Dec. 31<sup>st</sup></u></strong></p><p>9:00 - 10:00 am:&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="/programs/exchange">The Exchange – People of the Year</a></p><p>Noon - 1:00 pm:&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="http://www.whqr.org/programs/seasons-griot" target="_blank">A Season’s Griot 2012</a></p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 14:42:47 +0000 NHPR Staff 15394 at http://nhpr.org Special Programs Celebrating Kwanzaa & New Year's Eve The Night Tree Tradition http://nhpr.org/post/night-tree-tradition <p>A favorite children’s book I loved when my kids were young was <u>The Night Tree</u> by Eve Bunting. First published in 1991, the now 20-year-old story relates how a young family drove to a forest on a cold December night to decorate a living Christmas tree with edible ornaments for wildlife. The story and luminous illustrations capture the spirit of holiday giving and a special ritual in a cherished place.</p> Fri, 23 Dec 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Dave Anderson 836 at http://nhpr.org The Night Tree Tradition Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus http://nhpr.org/post/yes-virginia-there-santa-claus <p>An editorial take on an eight year old’s letter to Santa.</p> Thu, 22 Dec 2011 20:16:36 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1117 at http://nhpr.org Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus The Overlooked Books of 2011 http://nhpr.org/post/overlooked-books-2011 <p>We speak with a gaggle of bibliophiles about what titles evaded the gaze of main stream book circles this year.</p> Thu, 22 Dec 2011 17:57:33 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1109 at http://nhpr.org The Overlooked Books of 2011 A Tuba Christmas http://nhpr.org/post/tuba-christmas <p>No sleigh bells, no silver bells. One man’s brass hearted effort to make Christmas resound with the surprisingly gentle strains of the tuba.</p> Thu, 22 Dec 2011 17:34:48 +0000 Virginia Prescott & Taylor Quimby 1107 at http://nhpr.org A Tuba Christmas Holiday Labor Inequality: Who's Really Wrapping the Gifts ? http://nhpr.org/post/holiday-labor-inequality-whos-really-wrapping-gifts <p>The holiday season is an exhausting time for all, but who’s really doing most of the work, from wrapping gifts, sending out cards, to the annual decking of the halls and homes. The gender schism when it comes to holiday chores.</p> Wed, 21 Dec 2011 16:58:55 +0000 Rebecca Lavoie & Virginia Prescott 1049 at http://nhpr.org Holiday Labor Inequality: Who's Really Wrapping the Gifts ? Notes from a Maine Kitchen http://nhpr.org/post/notes-maine-kitchen <p>Food expert Kathy Gunst on taking a chill pill before the guests arrive, and thinking way outside the lobster shell.</p> Tue, 20 Dec 2011 16:55:19 +0000 Virginia Prescott 1018 at http://nhpr.org Notes from a Maine Kitchen This Year’s Gaming Show Case http://nhpr.org/post/year%E2%80%99s-gaming-show-case <p>Clay Wirestone stops by to chat us up about what video games are in vogue this holiday season as well as what awaits gamers on the horizon.</p> Wed, 14 Dec 2011 18:17:43 +0000 Virginia Prescott 894 at http://nhpr.org This Year’s Gaming Show Case Costello Takes a Stand http://nhpr.org/post/costello-takes-stand <p>Singer-songwriter Elvis Costello has a pricy new box set out this holiday season, but makes a suggestion not to buy, wanting his fans to spend “less than zero” though spend on something else…</p> Wed, 07 Dec 2011 16:34:11 +0000 Virginia Prescott 799 at http://nhpr.org Costello Takes a Stand Yule Logs, Egg Nog and Holiday Guns http://nhpr.org/post/yule-logs-egg-nog-and-holiday-guns-0 <p>A surprising turn in sales this holiday season, GUNS! Not your average gift under the tree, but one that the elusive Freedom Group wants to see more of. This ambiguously titled corporation is adding more American gun and munitions companies to its holiday wish list.</p> Tue, 06 Dec 2011 19:00:00 +0000 Virginia Prescott 780 at http://nhpr.org Yule Logs, Egg Nog and Holiday Guns