Veto http://nhpr.org en Photo Identification of Voters Becomes Law http://nhpr.org/post/photo-identification-voters-becomes-law <p>The Legislature has overridden Governor Lynch&rsquo;s <a href="http://www.governor.nh.gov/media/news/2012/062112-veto-sb289.htm">veto </a>of a voter ID law. The <a href="http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2012/SB0289.html">bill </a>allows a variety of forms this fall&mdash;including student IDs. Starting next year, only government issued identifications, including driver&rsquo;s licenses, military ID&rsquo;s and passports will be accepted.</p><p>Representative David Bates of Windham told colleagues that tighter restrictions are needed to ensure fair elections.</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 21:29:18 +0000 Todd Bookman 7721 at http://nhpr.org Photo Identification of Voters Becomes Law N.H. Governor's Veto Of Fetal Homicide Bill Stands http://nhpr.org/post/nh-governors-veto-fetal-homicide-bill-stands <p>New Hampshire&#39;s House has failed to override Gov. John Lynch&#39;s veto of a bill that expanded the state&#39;s homicide law to include causing the death of a fetus. Wed, 27 Jun 2012 20:24:50 +0000 Associated Press 7711 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Legislature Overrides Veto On Abortion Bill http://nhpr.org/post/nh-legislature-overrides-veto-abortion-bill <p>New Hampshire&#39;s Legislature has voted to override Gov. John Lynch&#39;s veto of a bill banning partial-birth abortions. Wed, 27 Jun 2012 18:35:01 +0000 Associated Press 7701 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Senate Fails To Override Right to Publicity Veto http://nhpr.org/post/nh-senate-fails-override-right-publicity-veto <div><p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">Gov. John Lynch&#39;s veto of a &quot;right to publicity&quot; bill motivated by J.D. Salinger&#39;s family will stand, after the New Hampshire Senate failed to get enough votes to override it.</span></p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 16:55:21 +0000 Associated Press 7688 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Senate Fails To Override Medical Marijuana Veto http://nhpr.org/post/nh-senate-fails-override-medical-marijuana-veto <p>The New Hampshire Senate has failed to override Gov. John Lynch&#39;s veto of a bill that would legalize the home cultivation of marijuana for medical purposes. Wed, 27 Jun 2012 16:08:34 +0000 Associated Press 7684 at http://nhpr.org Veto Day Arrives at Statehouse http://nhpr.org/post/veto-day-arrives-statehouse <p>With <a href="http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/bill_Status/default.aspx">15 vetoes</a>, the <a href="http://www.concordmonitor.com/article/337837/governors-veto-pen-is-running-out-of-ink?page=full">most ever </a>by a Governor in a single session, John Lynch hasn&rsquo;t been shy about wielding his power. Now, Republicans will work to override some of those measures when they gather in Concord on Wednesday. Tue, 26 Jun 2012 18:56:28 +0000 Todd Bookman 7615 at http://nhpr.org Veto Day Arrives at Statehouse Governor Stubs Medical Marijuana Law http://nhpr.org/post/governor-stubs-medical-marijuana-law <p style="background: white; line-height: 115%; margin-right: 2in;"><span style="line-height: 115%; font-family: &quot;Calibri&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;; font-size: 14pt; mso-ascii-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-hansi-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-bidi-theme-font: minor-latin;"><font color="#333333">Gov. John Lynch has made no secret of his opposition to medical marijuana in the state. Thu, 21 Jun 2012 20:22:01 +0000 Todd Bookman 7348 at http://nhpr.org Governor Stubs Medical Marijuana Law Gov. Lynch Vetoes Anti Late Term Abortion Bill http://nhpr.org/post/gov-lynch-vetoes-anti-late-term-abortion-bill <p>Governor Lynch has vetoed a <a href="http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2012/HB1679.html">bill </a>banning so-called &ldquo;partial birth abortions.&rdquo; The bill was the only anti-abortion bill&nbsp;that made it through the legislature this session.</p> Fri, 15 Jun 2012 20:44:54 +0000 Sam Evans-Brown 6983 at http://nhpr.org Gov. Lynch Vetoes Anti Late Term Abortion Bill