Summer http://nhpr.org en Copper Cannon's Free Summer Camp http://nhpr.org/post/copper-cannons-free-summer-camp <div>Copper Cannon Camp is tucked away in Franconia Notch on 128 acres of White Mountain National Forest. &nbsp;In some ways a typical overnight camp with sing-a-longs at night and archery during the day, Copper Cannon is unusual in one respect. &nbsp;As Sean Hurley reports, it's one of only a handful of co-ed camps in the country that's absolutely free for kids of low income families.&nbsp;</div><div><p>I'm only at Copper Cannon Camp for 30 seconds when Zach and Rob, two eleven year old boys, spot my recorder and come racing over.</p> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 20:43:30 +0000 Sean Hurley 32903 at http://nhpr.org Copper Cannon's Free Summer Camp Learning To Live Without A.C. http://nhpr.org/post/learning-live-without-ac <p>The heat wave that blanketed the east coast in mid-July was the <a href="http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/heat-wave-death-toll-climbs-9-article-1.1408334">longest to hit New York City in a decade</a>. Not surprisingly, the Big Apple broke records for energy usage, as sweltering city-dwellers turned up the AC.&nbsp; The US leads the world in climate control – but at a significant financial and environmental cost<strong>. &nbsp;Leon Neyfakh</strong> is a reporter for the Ideas section of the Boston Globe – and author of the article <a href="http://www.bostonglobe.com/ideas/2013/07/20/how-live-without-air-conditioning/4DqSdLtDiJ4iAn29lNCjaI/story.html">“How to Live Without Air Conditioning”.</a></p><p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 13:23:32 +0000 Virginia Prescott 32272 at http://nhpr.org Learning To Live Without A.C. Will This Megacamp Save Or Sink The Boy Scouts? http://nhpr.org/post/will-megacamp-save-or-sink-boy-scouts <p><a href="http://www.scouting.org/">The Boy Scouts of Americ</a>a opened its version of a Disney-esque destination getaway in early July. <a href="http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/thesummit.aspx">The Summit Bechtel Family National Scout Reserve</a> includes whitewater rafting, miles of zip line, and an 85,000-seat stadium – all built on ten thousand acres of West Virginia woodland. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 15:22:23 +0000 Virginia Prescott 31804 at http://nhpr.org Will This Megacamp Save Or Sink The Boy Scouts? Rattling In The Summer Solstice http://nhpr.org/post/rattling-summer-solstice <p>Last weekend was the first <em>actual</em> weekend of summer…an event barely noticed by many who’ve been barbequing, swimming and gardening since Memorial Day. Plenty of people do celebrate the longest day of the year in a more traditional way…and we’re talking traditions that stretch back thousands of years -- Carol and Clay Young hosted a fire ceremony to welcome in the solstice in the backwoods of Wentworth, New Hampshire, with a small, but diverse group of revelers. Word of Mouth’s Molly Donahue was there and brought us back this audio postcard.</p><p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 13:59:48 +0000 Molly Donahue 30221 at http://nhpr.org Rattling In The Summer Solstice Goldfinches, The Late Nesters http://nhpr.org/post/goldfinches-late-nesters <p>The bird world quiets down by late summer - but not the American goldfinch, one of the most common backyard birds. September brings the chatter of young goldfinches as they follow their male parent. They beg noisily, perched with head thrown back and trembling wings.</p><p>Most songbirds switch their diet to high-protein insects when feeding their young, and they nest earlier when insects are most bountiful. For example, chickadees that keep bird-feeders busy in winter disappear in summer as they forage for insects not birdseed.</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Francie Von Mertens 10388 at http://nhpr.org Goldfinches, The Late Nesters Hawks Aloft http://nhpr.org/post/hawks-aloft <p>Once again, it's broad-winged hawk migration time. Whirpools of hawks soon will fill the sky, riding high on thermal lift as sun warms earth. When lift plays out they stream south in an orderly, and countable, procession.</p><p>New Hampshire Audubon does just that - count the hawks - at Carter Hill Orchard in Concord and atop Pack Monadnock at Miller State Park in Peterborough.</p><p>Here's what Henry Walters, the official counter at Pack Monadnock, wrote two years ago on September 18:</p> Fri, 07 Sep 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Francie Von Mertens 10386 at http://nhpr.org Hawks Aloft Hover Flies http://nhpr.org/post/hover-flies <p>While hiking on Mount Monadnock this summer, I witnessed an odd phenomenon: nearly-motionless hovering insects with orange-yellow stripes over a dark body suggesting wasps or bees. The tight aerial formation of insects hovered at eye level in a shaft of sunlight over the trail.</p><p>The “Hover Flies” - sometimes called “Flower Flies” - belong to a LARGE group in the Order “<em>Diptera</em>” (the true flies). Those in the Family “<em>Syrphidae</em>” have only one pair of wings. All wasps and bees have two pairs of wings.</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 21:22:56 +0000 Dave Anderson 11827 at http://nhpr.org Hover Flies Stretching Out Summer, One Bite at a Time http://nhpr.org/post/stretching-out-summer-one-bite-time <p>Maine Chef <a href="http://www.kathygunst.com/">Kathy Gunst </a>on what we should cook and eat to make us feel better about the waning summer season.</p><p>Kathy's recipes:</p><p><strong>END-OF-THE-SEASON ROASTED TOMATO SAUCE</strong><br><strong><em>From Notes from a Maine Kitchen (Down East Books, 2011)</em></strong><strong>by Kathy Gunst</strong><br>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 14:01:45 +0000 Virginia Prescott 11732 at http://nhpr.org Stretching Out Summer, One Bite at a Time Dragonflies Winging South http://nhpr.org/post/dragonflies-winging-south <p>Late summer brings cool nights and clear air - and winged migration. Along with birds heading south, there's a few butterfly, moth and dragonfly species that respond to the migratory urge.</p><p>One dragonfly - the common green darner - has been studied with results that suggest there's a lot of similarities between insect and bird migration. Tiny radio transmitters were attached with eyelash adhesive to green darners which were tracked by plane and ground crews.</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Francie Von Mertens 10378 at http://nhpr.org Dragonflies Winging South Shorebird Migration http://nhpr.org/post/shorebird-migration <p>The autumn shorebird migration starts <strong><em>early</em></strong>. The first signs of autumn are now found moving southward along beaches and in salt marshes or high above New Hampshire's 13 miles of Atlantic coast.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 Aug 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Dave Anderson 10475 at http://nhpr.org Shorebird Migration Not So Common Nighthawks http://nhpr.org/post/not-so-common-nighthawks <p>In mid-August, one of the most elegant and least known migration flights begins. Common nighthawks, a long-distance migrant, are one of the earliest to depart their northern breeding grounds. Despite their species name, they aren't hawks and they aren't nocturnal. And, alas, they no longer are common. Nighthawks are crepuscular, a great word for the handful of species that are most active at dawn and dusk.</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Francie Von Mertens 8291 at http://nhpr.org Not So Common Nighthawks Got Wood? (The Other Energy) http://nhpr.org/post/got-wood-other-energy <p><span face="">Mid-summer is <em><u>not</u></em> too soon to think about heating next winter. By August, forest trees are beginning to prepare for the coming winter. With recent attention to the importance of local <strong>food</strong> production, we should consider ways to meet our <strong>heating </strong>needs using local wood energy. </span></p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Dave Anderson 9471 at http://nhpr.org Got Wood? (The Other Energy) A Good ol' Barn Dance http://nhpr.org/post/good-ol-barn-dance <p>Last weekend was the <a href="http://www.ossipeevalley.com/">Ossipee Valley Music Festival </a>in South Hiram,Maine. The festival is a weekend long event with four stages of Americana, Bluegrass, and Rockabilly music from bands all over the world. But the real party starts when the sun goes down at the raucous Saturday night barn dance. Word of Mouth intern Zach Nugent&nbsp;decided to shake a leg and bring us this audio post card.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Check out the barn dance band, The Defibulators:</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 14:44:15 +0000 Zach Nugent 9974 at http://nhpr.org A Good ol' Barn Dance The Best Books Hot off Indie Presses http://nhpr.org/post/best-books-hot-indie-presses <p>Three literary experts spill the beans on this summer's hottest indie reads.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 15:16:53 +0000 Virginia Prescott & Michele Filgate 8934 at http://nhpr.org The Best Books Hot off Indie Presses The All-American Lawn http://nhpr.org/post/all-american-lawn <p>Come the weekend, it's time to tend the All-American Lawn; time to&nbsp;fire up the&nbsp;&nbsp;mowers and&nbsp;weed whackers. Lawns&nbsp;need a lot of tending because they go against a basic law of nature: biodiversity,&nbsp;the ever-changing, dynamic system of plants and animals, <em>flora</em> and <em>fauna</em>.</p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 07:00:00 +0000 Chris Martin & Francie Von Mertens 7542 at http://nhpr.org The All-American Lawn