Manchester http://nhpr.org en Former Manchester Superintendent Dies Following Cancer Diagnosis http://nhpr.org/post/former-manchester-superintendent-dies-following-cancer-diagnosis <p></p><p>The former superintendent of the Manchester School District has died following a cancer diagnosis made just weeks after stepping down from the post last year.</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 19:42:11 +0000 Michael Brindley 46546 at http://nhpr.org Former Manchester Superintendent Dies Following Cancer Diagnosis Hooksett Voters To Weigh In On Pinkerton Deal http://nhpr.org/post/hooksett-voters-weigh-pinkerton-deal <p>On Tuesday, the town of Hooksett will vote whether to approve a contract with Pinkerton Academy in Derry. If voters approve the deal, it could spell the end for the town’s century-long relationship with Manchester schools.</p><p> Sun, 09 Mar 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Ryan Lessard 44721 at http://nhpr.org Manchester Police Ensnare 30 Low-Level Heroin Dealers In Sweep http://nhpr.org/post/manchester-police-ensnare-30-low-level-heroin-dealers-sweep <p>Over the last two days, police in Manchester arrested 30 street-level heroin dealers. Three were on Wednesday and at least 27 on Thursday&nbsp;since 5 o’clock in the morning.</p><p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 22:23:34 +0000 Ryan Lessard 43897 at http://nhpr.org Manchester Police Ensnare 30 Low-Level Heroin Dealers In Sweep 2013: Manchester's Record Crime Year http://nhpr.org/post/2013-manchesters-record-crime-year <p>Last year, robberies, burglaries and heroin addiction appear to have skyrocketed in the Queen City.</p><p>Over the summer we looked at the issue of crime in Manchester and we provided a lot of historical data from the past five years. Now that the year is done, we review some of those numbers. The most surprising development is a 45% growth in robberies compared to 2012. Burglaries spiked to unprecedented highs during the summer, but robberies continued well into the colder months. The city also saw a high number of homicides. The highest in recent memory.</p><p></p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:58:27 +0000 Ryan Lessard 41420 at http://nhpr.org 2013: Manchester's Record Crime Year Mayor Gatsas Sworn In, Promises To Tackle Crime http://nhpr.org/post/mayor-gatsas-sworn-promises-tackle-crime <p>Ted Gatsas began his third term as Manchester’s Mayor Tuesday. And his inaugural address included promises to improve the city’s safety and public education.</p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:52:53 +0000 Ryan Lessard 41414 at http://nhpr.org Mayor Gatsas Sworn In, Promises To Tackle Crime Hooksett School Board Votes To Sign Contract With Pinkerton, Manchester Calls Foul http://nhpr.org/post/hooksett-school-board-votes-sign-contract-pinkerton-manchester-calls-foul <p>Last week, the Hooksett School Board voted to sign a ten-year contract with Pinkerton Academy that would eventually send most of its high school students to the Derry school. This new agreement may reignite a legal conflict between Hooksett and Manchester.</p><p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:37:54 +0000 Ryan Lessard 40860 at http://nhpr.org Some City Leaders Say They're Not Interested In New 2 A.M. Last Call http://nhpr.org/post/some-city-leaders-say-theyre-not-interested-new-2-am-last-call <p></p><p>Starting with the New Year on Wednesday, cities and towns will have the option of extending last call at bars from 1 a.m. to 2 a.m.</p><p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 18:05:44 +0000 Michael Brindley 40845 at http://nhpr.org Some City Leaders Say They're Not Interested In New 2 A.M. Last Call Currier Museum Celebrates Pop Artist Robert Indiana http://nhpr.org/post/currier-museum-celebrates-pop-artist-robert-indiana <p>When you think of the Pop Art movement, Andy Warhol's Campbell's Soup prints or Roy Lichtenstein's comic book paintings might come to mind. &nbsp;But recently, one of their peers has been <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/22/arts/design/robert-indiana-assumes-one-work-has-swamped-his-career.html?_r=0" target="_blank">getting more attention than usual</a>. &nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 15 Dec 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 39392 at http://nhpr.org Currier Museum Celebrates Pop Artist Robert Indiana Manchester Police Weigh Charges After 5-Year-Old Accidentally Shoots Self http://nhpr.org/post/manchester-police-weigh-charges-after-5-year-old-accidentally-shoots-self <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Manchester police are still determining whether charges will be filed after a 5-year-old boy accidentally shot himself early Saturday morning.</span></p><p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 15:57:34 +0000 Michael Brindley 39399 at http://nhpr.org Report: Man Who Shot Son At Manchester YWCA Was Not Searched http://nhpr.org/post/report-man-who-shot-son-manchester-ywca-was-not-searched <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The man who killed his 9-year-old son and then himself during a supervised visit at the Manchester YWCA in August was not searched before entering the building.</span></p><p>The state Attorney General’s office released its <a href="http://doj.nh.gov/media-center/press-releases/2013/documents/20131107-manchester-murder-suicide-report.pdf" target="_blank">final report</a> on the incident on Thursday.</p><p></p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 21:41:47 +0000 Michael Brindley 38156 at http://nhpr.org Report: Man Who Shot Son At Manchester YWCA Was Not Searched Ted Gatsas Wins Third Term As Manchester Mayor http://nhpr.org/post/ted-gatsas-wins-third-term-manchester-mayor <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Republican incumbent Ted Gatsas has won his third term as Mayor of Manchester. But the race against Democratic Alderman Patrick Arnold was a close one.</span></p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 03:09:25 +0000 Ryan Lessard 38026 at http://nhpr.org Ted Gatsas Wins Third Term As Manchester Mayor On The Political Front For November 4 http://nhpr.org/post/political-front-november-4 <p></p><p></p><p>After the commission's recommendation last month, lawmakers will be debating expanding Medicaid in a special legislative session called by Governor Hassan; it remains to be seen how much bipartisan support the measure will have. We'll be watching the mayor's race in Manchester, where incumbent Mayor Ted Gatsas is being challenged by Alderman Patrick Arnold, and a special House election in Nashua, which pits former House Majority Leader Peter Silva against Democrat Latha Mangipudi.</p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 14:39:22 +0000 Josh Rogers 37908 at http://nhpr.org On The Political Front For November 4 Dean of UNH-Manchester Resigns http://nhpr.org/post/dean-unh-manchester-resigns <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The dean of <a href="http://manchester.unh.edu/" target="_blank">UNH-Manchester</a> has resigned just <a href="http://www.unh.edu/unhtoday/2012/04/rafieymehr-named-dean-unhs-manchester-campus" target="_blank">15 months into his appointment</a>.&nbsp; </span></p> Sun, 03 Nov 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 37856 at http://nhpr.org Dean of UNH-Manchester Resigns Monet, Renoir, Van Gogh: Currier Museum Explains Impressionism In Three Paintings http://nhpr.org/post/monet-renoir-van-gogh-currier-museum-explains-impressionism-three-paintings <p></p><p></p> Sun, 20 Oct 2013 12:30:00 +0000 Amanda Loder 36880 at http://nhpr.org Monet, Renoir, Van Gogh: Currier Museum Explains Impressionism In Three Paintings AG: Deadly Force Justified In Officer-Involved Manchester Shooting http://nhpr.org/post/ag-deadly-force-justified-officer-involved-manchester-shooting <p>The New Hampshire Attorney General&rsquo;s office <a href="http://doj.nh.gov/media-center/press-releases/2013/documents/20131015-state-police-involved-shooting-report.pdf" target="_blank">has determined</a> that a state trooper&rsquo;s use of deadly force was justified in a shooting in Manchester last month.</p><p>According to an autopsy, 45-year-old Wendy Lawrence of Canterbury died of a gunshot wound to the chest.</p><p>She was shot four times following a high-speed pursuit that ended in Manchester on Sept. 30.</p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 14:13:07 +0000 Michael Brindley 36779 at http://nhpr.org