Ann McLane Kuster http://nhpr.org en An Early-Bird Look At N.H.'s Midterm Races http://nhpr.org/post/early-bird-look-nhs-midterm-races <p>In mid-March, with the sap has hardly running, November seems a lifetime away. But in the political world, eight months goes by quickly, especially for those preparing for mid-term elections. Although the filing period isn’t until June, there’s already a solid list of Republicans hoping to face the three Democratic incumbents. In the 1st Congressional District, former Congressman Frank Guinta and former UNH business school Dean Dan Innis look to go against Carol Shea Porter. In Congressional District 2, state Rep. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 44694 at http://nhpr.org An Early-Bird Look At N.H.'s Midterm Races Kuster: ACA Should Be Improved, Not Repealed http://nhpr.org/post/kuster-aca-should-be-improved-not-repealed <p></p><p>2<sup>nd</sup> District Congresswoman Ann McLane Kuster says she wants to see improvements made to the Affordable Care Act, but is against repealing the law.</p><p>Appearing on The Exchange this morning, Kuster described the rollout as a disaster, but said figures released earlier this month show more than 16,000 New Hampshire residents have now successfully enrolled for health insurance under the law.</p><p>“We’re talking about thousands of people who never had access before, so it’s not perfect, but let’s try to make the transition as smooth as possible for people.”</p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 15:25:24 +0000 Michael Brindley 43867 at http://nhpr.org Kuster: ACA Should Be Improved, Not Repealed U.S. Rep. Kuster Takes Your Questions http://nhpr.org/post/us-rep-kuster-takes-your-questions <p>Second District Congresswoman Ann McLane Kuster was swept into office in the last election amid a storm of anti-incumbent feeling in the Granite State. In her victory speech, she promised to work in the spirit of bipartisanship. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 43809 at http://nhpr.org U.S. Rep. Kuster Takes Your Questions Live Blog: Rep. Kuster On The Exchange http://nhpr.org/post/live-blog-rep-kuster-exchange <p>9:43: Kuster on voting for proposed cut to military retiree benefits in budget, “Not a perfect bill…but I thought it was significant advancement for the country to have a bipartisan budget.” Kept the government open and moving forward. “I have supported the repeal of the cut to military retirees.” Republicans talk a lot about deficit and debt; “we have to make decisions.”</p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 13:50:14 +0000 Michael Brindley 43862 at http://nhpr.org Live Blog: Rep. Kuster On The Exchange N.H. Reacts To President Obama's State Of The Union Address http://nhpr.org/post/nh-reacts-president-obamas-state-union-address <p>Here is a roundup of reactions to President Barack Obama’s State of the Union speech from the New Hampshire Congressional delegation and political organizations.</p><p>Sen. Kelly Ayotte:</p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 15:32:23 +0000 Michael Brindley 42631 at http://nhpr.org N.H. Reacts To President Obama's State Of The Union Address Kuster: Give Tax Deductions To Hunters Who Donate Game http://nhpr.org/post/kuster-give-tax-deductions-hunters-who-donate-game <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">&nbsp;</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">New Hampshire U.S. Rep. Annie Kuster says hunters who donate wild game to food banks should be eligible for a tax deduction to cover the costs of processing.</p><p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 13:51:36 +0000 Associated Press 40637 at http://nhpr.org Kuster: Give Tax Deductions To Hunters Who Donate Game Rep. Kuster Pushes For National Renewable Electricity Standard http://nhpr.org/post/rep-kuster-pushes-national-renewable-electricity-standard <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">U.S. Rep. Annie </span>Kuster<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> wants to require utility companies to produce at least 25 percent of their power from renewable energy sources like wind, solar and biomass by 2025. &nbsp;</span></div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Kuster is co-sponsoring legislation to create a national Renewable Electricity Standard. She says doing so would help create nearly 300,000 jobs, cut pollution and save consumers almost $100 billion on their utility bills by 2030. Sun, 08 Dec 2013 17:11:08 +0000 Associated Press 39760 at http://nhpr.org Rep. Kuster Pushes For National Renewable Electricity Standard Small Brewers Seek Tax Cuts To Spur Growth http://nhpr.org/post/small-brewers-seek-tax-cuts-spur-growth <p>Henniker Brewing Company is a little more than a year old, and this month, could break-even for the first time. That’s good news for investors, but the 5-man operation is still facing some growing pains.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Manager Dave </span>Currier<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says the beer is good, but the facility needs some improvements.</span></p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 21:28:01 +0000 Todd Bookman 37767 at http://nhpr.org Small Brewers Seek Tax Cuts To Spur Growth Kuster, Porter Sign Petition To Force End Of Shutdown http://nhpr.org/post/kuster-porter-sign-petition-force-end-shutdown <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">U.S. Reps. Annie Kuster and Carol Shea-Porter of New Hampshire have signed a petition that would force a vote to end the federal government shutdown.</p> Sat, 12 Oct 2013 22:02:46 +0000 Associated Press 36675 at http://nhpr.org Sen. Shaheen, Rep. Kuster Weigh In On Syria http://nhpr.org/post/sen-shaheen-rep-kuster-weigh-syria <p>New Hampshire’s congressional delegation is weighing in on possible military intervention in Syria. &nbsp;This after President Barack Obama announced he would seek congressional approval for a military strike to punish the Assad regime for allegedly using chemical weapons.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 02 Sep 2013 22:40:56 +0000 Amanda Loder 34240 at http://nhpr.org On The Political Front For February 11 http://nhpr.org/post/political-front-february-11 <p>Taking a look at how Governor Maggie Hassan handled her first weather-related test in the recent storm and what may be coming up in her budget proposal, being introduced on Thursday; Representative Annie Kuster's tax delinquency troubles.</p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 15:04:54 +0000 Josh Rogers 21724 at http://nhpr.org On Assault Weapons Ban, Sen. Ayotte Only Holdout Among N.H. Delegation http://nhpr.org/post/assault-weapons-ban-sen-ayotte-only-holdout-among-nh-delegation <p></p><p></p><p>New Hampshire Republican Senator Kelly Ayotte is the only member of the state’s Congressional delegation who has not pledged support for an assault weapons ban this week.</p><p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 21:42:17 +0000 Michael Brindley 18723 at http://nhpr.org On Assault Weapons Ban, Sen. Ayotte Only Holdout Among N.H. Delegation Ayotte: We'll Have A Female President In My Lifetime, But It Won't Be Me http://nhpr.org/post/ayotte-well-have-female-president-my-lifetime-it-wont-be-me <p>While seen as a rising star in her party, Republican Senator Kelly Ayotte says she has no plans to be the nation's first female president.</p><p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 17:20:16 +0000 Michael Brindley 18087 at http://nhpr.org Ayotte: We'll Have A Female President In My Lifetime, But It Won't Be Me Coos Voting: Kuster and Bass http://nhpr.org/post/coos-voting-kuster-and-bass <p>In Coos County Democrat Ann McLane Kuster got a boost from Berlin and Gorham, helping her to defeat incumbent Republican Charlie Bass.</p><p>According <a href="http://sos.nh.gov/2012ConGen.aspx?id=27993">figures released by the Secretary of State</a>&nbsp;Kuster got 2,413 votes in Berlin, almost 1,000 more than Bass.</p><p>In Gorham she got 866 votes compared to 564 for Bass.</p><p>Other Coos towns that favored Kuster included Milan, Northumberland, Randolph, Stratford and Stark.</p><p>Bass took towns including Colebrook, Columbia, Dalton, Errol, Lancaster and Whitefield.</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 19:17:20 +0000 Chris Jensen 16542 at http://nhpr.org Kuster Wins 2nd Congressional District In Rematch With Bass http://nhpr.org/post/kuster-wins-2nd-congressional-district-rematch-bass <p></p><p>It was a repeat match-up with a very different outcome in the Second Congressional District.&nbsp; Democrat Ann McLane Kuster defeated Republican Congressman Charlie Bass by a roughly five point margin.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 09:39:52 +0000 Amanda Loder 16397 at http://nhpr.org Kuster Wins 2nd Congressional District In Rematch With Bass