Clean Energy http://nhpr.org en Rep. Kuster Pushes For National Renewable Electricity Standard http://nhpr.org/post/rep-kuster-pushes-national-renewable-electricity-standard <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">U.S. Rep. Annie </span>Kuster<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> wants to require utility companies to produce at least 25 percent of their power from renewable energy sources like wind, solar and biomass by 2025. &nbsp;</span></div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Kuster is co-sponsoring legislation to create a national Renewable Electricity Standard. She says doing so would help create nearly 300,000 jobs, cut pollution and save consumers almost $100 billion on their utility bills by 2030. Sun, 08 Dec 2013 17:11:08 +0000 Associated Press 39760 at http://nhpr.org Rep. Kuster Pushes For National Renewable Electricity Standard Clean Energy Victory Bonds http://nhpr.org/post/clean-energy-victory-bonds <p><strong>EarthTalk®<br>E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 17:56:33 +0000 New Media Intern 17578 at http://nhpr.org Clean Energy Victory Bonds Natural Gas for Automotive Fuel http://nhpr.org/post/natural-gas-automotive-fuel <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: I recently saw an article extolling the virtues of natural gas as an abundant, inexpensive and domestically produced automotive fuel. Is this going to be the automotive fuel of the future and how green is it? </strong><em>-- Jason Kincaide, New Bedford, MA</em></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 01 Jul 2012 04:00:00 +0000 8190 at http://nhpr.org Natural Gas for Automotive Fuel Making Renewable Energies Competitive http://nhpr.org/post/making-renewable-energies-competitive <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: Renewable energy production in the solar and wind markets currently receives about $7 billion in government subsidies annually, but is still not competitive against fossil fuels on a large scale. To what extent should the U.S. continue to prop up these industries as they compete against dirty energy?</strong><em>-- Jack Morgan, Richmond, VA</em></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 24 Jun 2012 04:00:00 +0000 7765 at http://nhpr.org Making Renewable Energies Competitive Wind Turbines and Bird Conflicts http://nhpr.org/post/wind-turbines-and-bird-conflicts <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p><p><br /><strong><u>Dear EarthTalk</u>: One of the objections to wind power has been that the turbines can kill birds. Has there been some progress in developing bird-friendly wind power? </strong><em>-- Marcie Mahoney, Boston, MA</em></p><p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 03 Jun 2012 04:00:00 +0000 6617 at http://nhpr.org Wind Turbines and Bird Conflicts President Obama Talks Energy In Nashua http://nhpr.org/post/president-obama-talks-energy-nashua <p>&nbsp;President Barack Obama was in New Hampshire today talking about energy. As New Hampshire Public Radio&rsquo;s Josh Rogers reports, the president said the country needs to increase oil production while also investing in newer sources of energy.</p><p>Billed an official visit, at times the President&rsquo;s stop had the feel of campaign rally. Mr. Obama told the crowd he knew NH&rsquo;s &quot;political bull detector&quot; was sharp, and urged voters to be wary of election year promises.</p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 20:21:47 +0000 NHPR Staff 2232 at http://nhpr.org President Obama Talks Energy In Nashua Why Did Leading Solar Panel Maker Solyndra Fail? http://nhpr.org/post/why-did-leading-solar-panel-maker-solyndra-fail <p><strong>EarthTalk&reg;<br /> E - The Environmental Magazine</strong></p> Sun, 26 Feb 2012 05:00:00 +0000 2258 at http://nhpr.org Why Did Leading Solar Panel Maker Solyndra Fail?