nuclear power http://nhpr.org en The News On Nuclear Energy http://nhpr.org/post/news-nuclear-energy <p></p><p>After thirty years of no new nuclear construction, two projects are underway in the south, as some argue this carbon-emission free energy source is vital due to climate change. But concerns over safety issues remain, as well as new challenges from a booming natural gas industry. We explore the problems and prospects of nuclear energy with a <em>New York&nbsp;Times</em> reporter who&nbsp;has been following the&nbsp;debate over nuclear.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 33585 at http://nhpr.org The News On Nuclear Energy The Vermont Yankee Debate Heats Up! http://nhpr.org/post/vermont-yankee-debate-heats <p><span style="line-height: 200%; font-family: &quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;; font-size: 12pt; mso-fareast-font-family: &quot;Times New Roman&quot;; mso-bidi-font-family: &quot;Times New Roman&quot;; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA;">The nuclear power plant on the banks of the Connecticut River has been touted as a renewable energy source and criticized for its safety record. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 17962 at http://nhpr.org The Vermont Yankee Debate Heats Up! A Return To 'Safety First' For Michigan Nuclear Plant http://nhpr.org/post/return-safety-first-michigan-nuclear-plant The Palisades nuclear power plant in Michigan had five unplanned shutdowns last year. It's one of the area's biggest employers, and its safety record is one of the worst in the country. Sun, 22 Apr 2012 19:50:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 3335 at http://nhpr.org A Return To 'Safety First' For Michigan Nuclear Plant Anti-Nuclear Groups Excluded From Seabrook Re-licensing Process http://nhpr.org/post/anti-nuclear-groups-excluded-seabrook-re-licensing-process <p style="margin-bottom: 0pt;"><font size="3"><font face="Times New Roman">Anti-Nuclear groups are angered by a decision of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to exclude them from the re-licensing process for the Seabrook Nuclear Plant.&nbsp;</font></font></p> Tue, 13 Mar 2012 18:20:05 +0000 Roger Wood 2474 at http://nhpr.org Anti-Nuclear Groups Excluded From Seabrook Re-licensing Process Nuclear Safety, Cost Issues Loom As U.S. OKs Reactor http://nhpr.org/post/nuclear-safety-cost-issues-loom-us-oks-reactor The nuclear industry is celebrating the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission's decision to give the go-ahead for a utility company to build two new nuclear reactors in Georgia, the first license to be granted for a new reactor in the U.S. since 1978. But last year's accident at reactors in Fukushima, Japan, still clouds the future of nuclear power, as does the cost of new power plants.<p>Southern Co. Fri, 10 Feb 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Christopher Joyce 1817 at http://nhpr.org Nuclear Safety, Cost Issues Loom As U.S. OKs Reactor Former New Jersey Governor Christie Todd Whitman http://nhpr.org/post/former-new-jersey-governor-christie-todd-whitman <p>Former New Jersey Governor and EPA Administrator, Christie Todd Whitman joins us to make the case for nuclear power.</p> Thu, 12 Jan 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Laura Knoy 1372 at http://nhpr.org Former New Jersey Governor Christie Todd Whitman Seabrook Officials: Nuclear Plant is Safe http://nhpr.org/post/seabrook-officials-nuclear-plant-safe <p><span style="font-family: &quot;Times New Roman&quot;,&quot;serif&quot;; font-size: 12pt; mso-fareast-font-family: Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA;">Seabrook Nuclear Plant officials says the plant is continuing to operate safely.</span></p> Thu, 08 Dec 2011 18:31:54 +0000 Roger Wood 812 at http://nhpr.org Seabrook Officials: Nuclear Plant is Safe